Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

43 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Gutted Souls - The Illusion of Freedom

Gutted Souls
The Illusion of Freedom
by Marcos "Big Daddy" Garcia at 18 August 2017, 9:36 AM

In the lands of Brazil, the greater part of Metal bands have a more extreme insight. Yes, this is one tradition of our scene, and this is the reason that we have excellent bands in extreme genres of Metal (but we have excellent melodic bands as well). Then, carrying this legacy and honoring Brazilian Death Metal School from Rio de Janeiro comes the quartet GUTTED SOULS, that after a long trial due to changes in the lineup and other problems, comes with its first album, called “The Illusion of Freedom”.

Their musical work is built upon a fusion of a classical Death Metal in a format that reminds the style practiced by North American bands as DEICIDE, SUFFOCATION and OBITUARY, with technical approach and brutality from Brutal Death Metal. Of course that their musical work is not as trivial, because they are playing some complex musical structures and even the use of fine melodic lines to bind together all the range of the band’s influences is allowed here. But it’s catchy as well, easy to understand and assimilated by the fans. Pay attention and be reeled in by their musical work. Rodrigo Oliveira made the sound production of the “The Illusion of Freedom” (and previously worked with KORZUS and ARMORED DAWN). The recording sessions, mixing and mastering were done at Dharma Studios, on São Paulo. The final result is really very good, with very good instrumental tunes, everything sounding clear and brutal, and keeping the essential rawness dose that a Death Metal album must bear. Yes, it sounds great to our ears!

Excellent vocals (with an ample range from guttural tunes and high pitched screams), a solid work from guitars (technical riffs and very good solos, from where flows the brutal harmonies used by the band), and a technical and brutal work from bass guitar and drums (that creates a solid rhythmic basis) are the elements of their work, so be prepared for musical violence with very good taste.

All the nine songs from “The Illusion of Freedom” are excellent, but we can say that the rhythmic diversity of “Being Human” (where the work from bass guitar and drums is excellent), the catchy brutality that is created by the tempos and guitars on “The Authoritarian Follower”, the bitter slow parts of “Mondo Psycho” (a great moment from vocals, for they fit on the changes of rhythm), the strong and massive wall of riffs shown on “Psychopathic Ruler”, the excellent rhythmic works of “Addicted to Power”, and the aggressive massive killing done by the band on “Dancing to the Sound… Of the Powers that Be” (that shows another great moment from the vocals). As you can see by the songs’ names, the band prefers to use an intelligent approach on real themes.

Originality: 8
Songwriting: 10
Memorability: 9
Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. Being Human
2. The Authoritarian Follower
3. Mondo Psycho
4. The Undying Stars
5. Snakes in Suits
6. Psychopathic Ruler
7. Addicted to Power
8. Unconscious Automaton (Curse of Wetiko)
9. Dancing to the Sound… Of the Powers that Be
Iron - Vocals
Wellington Ferrari - Guitars, Bass
Leandro XSA – Lead Guitars
Rodrigo Oliveira - Drums
Record Label: Dharma Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 08 December 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green