Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

38 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Halestorm - Reimagined

by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 31 August 2020, 12:09 PM

HALESTORM signed with Atlantic Records in 2005, and have released four albums to date. “Reimagined” is their fifth…and EP of previously released songs and a cover of the infamous song “I will Always Love you” by Whitney Houston. “I Get Off” opens the album. It has a mid-tempo pace and is fairly thin instrumentation. Of course, Lzzy’s vocals take center stage. They have always been the best part of the band for sure. “I Miss the Misery” is a three-and-a-half -minute acoustic guitar rocker. Lzzy stretches out into the upper ranges of her voice, but again it lacks a fuller sound. Some more melodic moments come from the bridge.

“I am the Fire” is a four-minute song that opens with Lzzy’s sultry vocals and some clean guitar notes. It’s a bit on the melancholic side. It features a more emotional and soulful sound but needs something big to round it out. I’ve always felt the band leaned on Lzzy too much and this is the result. “Break in” features Amy Lee on vocals. Aside from Lzzy, she is probably the most well-known female vocalist in the Hard Rock/Alternative/Metal genre. Though she might not have the same sultriness in her voice, she has a smoother delivery and a more purely beautiful voice, in my opinion.

“I will Always Love you” is the remake of the Whitney Houston classic, and perhaps the most imitated song in the history of music. Lzzy does her own take on the song, of course. It’s seductive, charming and alluring. And of course, she has the vocal control to hit the upper ranges. It’s a bit if a unique take on the song, and one of the better remakes I have heard. “Mz. Hyde” closes the song. It features a darker sound, especially in the chorus. Finger snaps move the song along, and it’s probably the best track on the album.

Overall, as I mentioned, the band rests too much on Lzzy’s voice, and thus the other instruments fail to really develop. Or perhaps, that might be the way she likes it. She has a wonderful voice, of course. But the six-track EP of re-done older tracks…I just have to ask why? Maybe these are some of her favorite songs from the past…I don’t know. But, the entire EP just fell flat for me, and I’ve seen the band live, so I know what energy they can bring to the table. This EP just isn’t reflective of that.

Songwriting: 4
Musicianship: 6
Memorability: 3
Production: 8

2 Star Rating

1. I Get Off
2. I Miss the Misery
3. I am the Fire
4. Break In
5. I will Always Love you
6. Mz. Hyde
Lzzy Hale – Vocals
Arejay Hale – Drums
Joe Hottinger – Guitars
Josh Smith – Bass
Record Label: Atlantic Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green