Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

31 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Hatebreed - The Divinity Of Purpose

The Divinity Of Purpose
by Karila "Femme Metale" Shannis at 20 December 2012, 5:26 PM

I have a bad prejudice against core music. Ever since the breakdowns and crabwalks of “Attack!Attack!” seared themselves into my eyes, I’ve never been the same.  Ever since “Blood On The Dance Floor” started dying their hair with Kool Aid and making tattoos out of Crayola marker lines, I’ve been prone to the “kill those fucking posers” syndrome. But HATEBREED’s newest album “Divinity Of Purpose” almost makes me want to apologize for most of the bad things I’ve said about bands categorized in genres with the word “core” in them. Almost.

At least HATEBREED takes some dignity in their rough-and-tough countenances, rocking grays and blacks till the end of time. And that album cover looks like something Michael Angelo would’ve thought up in his rebellious teen years. This album has considerably too many breakdowns, too much shouting, and too much flat musical structure for me to consider this a top album of the year.  However, the content of this album was as consistently hard-hitting as a lovechild between PANTERA and AGNOSTIC FRONTHATEBREED’s “fuck the system” attitude is prevalent in the gritty grooves of “Honor Never Dies” and the anthemic notes of “Own Your World.”  Slower grooves in songs like “Dead Man Breathing” allure the avid headbanger, and “The Language” speaks to all with its musical spunk that could start mosh pits the size of a Midwestern city full of angry teenagers.

3 Star Rating

1. Put it to the Torch
2. Honor Never Dies
3. Own Your World
4. The Language
5. Before the Fight Ends You
6. Indivisible
7. Dead Man Breathing
8. Slower headbanging tune
9. The Divinity of Purpose
10. Nothing Scars Me
11. Bitter Truth
12. Time to Murder It
Jamey Jasta- Vocals
Chris Beattie- Bass
Wayne Lozinak- Guitar
Matt Byrne- Drums
Frank Novinec- Guitar
Record Label: Nuclear Blast Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green