Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

42 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Havohej – Table of Uncreation

Table of Uncreation
by "Der Bärtige Mann" Gareth Beams at 03 December 2019, 10:49 PM

Experimental Black Metal outfit HAVOHEJ return with only their third full-length album in a 26-year career. Yes, their name is Jehovah backwards for all the hidden meanings there. Paul has been busy with his work since 2012 when he released the EP “Purple Cloak”. Since then he’s released four albums; Sickened by “Holy Host” (EP), “Thy Kingdom Cum”,The Curling Flame of Blasphemy” & “Rotting Incarnation of God” in 2012, 2013, 2016 & 2019 respectively with his other band PROFANATICA and one with former band INCANTATION, “Reh & Live 1990 / Jesus Spawn” (Split) in 2013. Let's see what he’s been able to bring together for HAVIHEJ

God of All Constellation” starts off with a good sample to build atmosphere, its joined by a drum beat which is seemingly in the background like a marching band approaching. The beat from said drums picks up the tempo. The guitar just sounds like a static noise and the vocals, I have no idea what is being said, if this were a Norwegian band I’d put it down to that, but this dude is American. As it turns out, the slow build up we heard at the start is as fast and as interesting as it gets. If this is just the album intro, and it picks up then the album will pick up

Holy Blood, Holy Grail” continues with the same vain as “God of All Constellation”, it seems as if it is going to pick up. Then it just stops. I did not realize it was such a short song. Maybe this is the intro into where the tempo and beat picks up. “The Black King”, no change yet. If you had this on CD, you would not know the song has changed to Track 3 of the album. Still nothing has happened in this song that make it any different to the previous. No update to give on the change of melody, tempo or beat

Seven Jinn” actually picks up pace a bit on the drums, but not enough to change the feeling of the album. I am not sure what other instruments are being played. Vocals, well, what vocals you can hear have not changed in the album. “Impossible Force” starts…that’s right slowly. The drums are more prominent inn this song at the start and then slowly fade away. Nothing really happens in the song, and it’s a good job its under 3 minutes or you may be asleep.

Table of Uncreation” continues under the theme that this entire album could just be one long song. Not sure really what else to say without repeating myself (again). "All Time Is Now” starts with a new sounding sample. Could this be the song that finally kicks the album off? The drum beat stops the sample and changes the tempo, actually picks it up. No, it sits back down and just goes through the singular motion and technique we have heard for the last 20 or so minutes if you’ve got this far. No one will blame you if you bailed out already. I would have

Before Them and Behind Them” actually has an aggressive start, its vocals have changed and have picked up the beat well to start off the song. Then, goes back to doing nothing new. Very disappointing. “Fatir” thank god this is the last song. I’m not expecting anything at this point. Nothing happens… it’s a pointless song, it has aa bit of a beat for the first half and then just stops…

Experimental Black Metal is almost cliché to say that the band or artist can make whatever sound they like and produce it. That is exactly what has happened here and it’s just a noise in the vocal capacity of the album. Nothing actually happens on this album. 100% the worst album I have heard all year in the genre. If you are into this, then that is your taste and I will not out you for it. It's just not for everyone. There is Depressive Black Metal songs with more life in it than these.

Songwriting: 1
Musicianship: 1
Memorability: 1
Production: 1

0 Star Rating

1. God of All Constellation
2. Holy Blood, Holy Grail
3. The Black King
4. Seven Jinn
5. Impossible Force
6. Table of Uncreation
7. All Time Is Now
8. Before Them and Behind Them
9. Fatir
Paul Ledney – Everything
Record Label: Hells Headbangers Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green