Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

46 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Heave Blood & Die - Post People

Heave Blood & Die
Post People
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 21 February 2021, 10:02 AM

From Tromsø to Øyafestivalen, to Roskilde Festival, moving to Oslo and now with new label Fysisk Format onboard, HEAVE BLOOD & DIE is ready to follow up their 2018 effort “Vol. II”, with “Post People”. “Post People” started as a concept we talked about together as a group, the more we discussed the topic, the more it turned out to it could possibly be so many different things: A fictional universe deprived of an established society, a post-apocalyptic universe of sorts, which the concept very much is. It would be humankind as a whole transcending modern society, leaving capitalism behind, laying waste to non-justified authority, achieving the climate neutral goal, equality for all and ending the war on drugs. The album contains eight tracks.

“Radio Silence” opens the album. It opens with a steady sound, and vocals that are somewhat subdued, but shouted spritely. It holds on that steady path throughout the song. Those odd chord progressions towards the end are interesting. “Kawanishi Aeroplane” begins with pensive vocals and a softer, more introspective sound. The guitars are sad and somewhat trippy, but the sweet little melody they are building here is quite charming. “Metropolitan Jam” is a short, under-three-minutes of tense tones. The guitars and keys work very well together here, and the pace is hasty.

“True Believer” begins with a firmer, more full sound. The vocalist reminds me of someone that I can’t put my finger on. Bono, perhaps? The guitars really develop this unique, trippy sound. “Everything is Now” is a slow, grinding song, full of despondent tones. It’s crushing, and punishing sound will drain your very soul. “Continental Drifting” is a three-and-a-half-minute song that features some strange and unique guitars and keys. The vocals stay around the same range throughout the song. It has a slightly upbeat quality to it, within the darkness.

“Geometrical Shapes” opens with steady bass notes and a three-note guitar pattern. It is gearing up towards something that never quite develops. The name of the song is repeated quietly…whispered at times. Towards the end, it sounds like a spaceship has touched down to whisk you away. “Post People” closes the album. Beginning with soft vocals and just a little guitar presence, it’s like experiencing the calm of a world post-people. You feel happy and content.

This was a very unique and strangely likeable album for me. Is it Progressive music? Perhaps…I am not sure. It does not matter however, because good music is just good music. I very much enjoyed the lyrical content here, which is something I often don’t care about when listening to music. But, it built a connection between the music and the lyrics. The music was expertly crafted…mostly in quiet and subdued tones, and the steady range of the vocals helped to get the point across. Smooth Prog has been my go-to now for a while. Favorite track: “Kawanishi Aeroplane.”

Songwriting: 9
Musicianship: 8
Memorability: 8
Production: 8

4 Star Rating

1. Radio Silence
2. Kawanishi Aeroplane
3. Metropolitan Jam
4. True Believer
5. Everything is Now
6. Continental Drifting
7. Geometrical Shapes
8. Post People
Karl Pedersen – Bass, Vocals
Kenneth Mortensen – Drums
Jonas Helgesen Kuivalainen – Guitars
Mads Ystmark – Guitars, Vocals
Marie Sofie Langeland Mikkelsen – Keyboards
Record Label: Fysisk Format Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green