Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

44 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Heavenly - Carpe Diem

Carpe Diem
by Dimitris Karametros at 18 January 2010, 7:01 PM

I thought Power Metal is dead…or isn’t it?. Well, honestly I believe Power Metal is in a state between life and death, were the paramedics attempt a Hail Mary to revitalize it. HEAVENLY might be a good resuscitator to Power Metal.

"Carpe Diem" is the fifth album of the French Power Metal band HEAVENLY who was formed in 1994 by vocalist Benjamin Soto and drummer Max Pilo. HEAVENLY draws its influence from bands such as HELLOWEEN, EDGUY and RHAPSODY, and they prove to be good students too. "Carpe Diem" sounds in many regards similar to fresh RHAPSODY, sticking to a neo classical extravaganza and boosting the vocal range of Benjamin, who is actually a very good singer. I am at a loss because I haven’t heard any previous albums from HEAVENLY and I am not a great fan of Power Metal, but I liked it in a way. There are parts in the album that made me feel that they are trying too hard and everything becomes amplified, guitars, drums, vocals and you are hit by a neo classical, symphonic storm. Then they tone down and there is a simple cleaner Power Metal atmosphere.

Although "Carpe Diem" begun very strong I got bored somewhere around the middle. The sound is predictable and I got buffed up by all this nobility, love and glory and whatnot. There are twists and turns that actually make them stand out and you feel like they have something to offer to the scene but then again it’s so little that it might go unnoticed. I feel the band tired, maybe because they tried too hard in their previous albums.

"Carpe Diem" won’t do the difference in the scene but they are hopefuls to those that care about Power Metal. Try them out and maybe you will like them.

2 Star Rating

  1. Carpe Diem
  2. Lost In Your Eyes
  3. Farewell
  4. Full Moon
  5. A Better Me
  6. Ashen Paradise
  7. The Face Of Truth
  8. Ode To Joy
  9. Save Our Souls
Benjamin Sotto - Vocals
Charley Corbiaux - Guitar
Matthieu Plana - Bass
Olivier Lapauze - Guitars
Thomas Das Neves - Drums
Record Label: AFM Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 01 December 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green