Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

31 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Hellwitch - Syzygial Miscreancy (Reissue)

Syzygial Miscreancy (Reissue)
by V. Srikar at 14 July 2017, 9:59 AM

Reissues are always fun to review as it gives us an opportunity to look at some of the hidden and forgotten gems of the past. So Vic Records has now reissued Florida based Death Thrash band HELLWITCH’s well celebrated debut full length album “Syzygial Miscreancy” which was originally released in December of 1990, before I was even born! The album starts with a melodic acoustic song in “The Ascent”, and it quickly turns chaotic in “Nosferatu”. The song that bears the name of the famous yester-years Horror classic, is best described as chaotic Thrash with growling Death Metal-ish vocals. The song has plenty of past paced solos and is probably reminiscent of the 90s old school rustic production as well. “Viral Exogence” feels like a drilling machine forced into your head, but you aren’t actually complaining here! There are some rhythmic juicy riffs in the middle, but for the most part, it’s another chaotic song. “Sentient Transmography” has some interesting sharp innovative riffs and also the dual vocals here makes for an interesting song.

Mordirivial Dissemination” starts with the sound of thunders in the sky, but soon turns into a mid-tempo chaotic song. The music here is very much targeted to the folks who really dig the style of old school chaotic Thrash, and I can’t with all honestly say that I love that style of Thrash Metal. Both “Pyrophoric Seizure” and “Purveyor of Fear” have some tried and tested seasoned riffs and the usual growling vocals to go with, but little or no variety. “Syzygial Miscreancy” is an album only suited for connoisseurs of chaotic Thrash or Death Metal or anything in-between. Its 25 minutes of old school ruthless chaotic Thrash on rustic blunt production, sadly with little or no variety.

Songwriting: 5
Originality: 4
Memorability: 4
Production: 8

3 Star Rating

1. The Ascent
2. Nosferatu
3. Viral Exogence
4. Sentient Transmography
5. Mordirivial Dissemination
6. Pyrophoric Seizure
7. Purveyor of Fear
Patrick Ranieri – Vocals, Guitars
Joe “Witch” Schnessel - Drums
Tommy Mouser - Bass
Record Label: Vic Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 02 February 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green