Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

33 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Here Lies Man – Ritual Divination

Here Lies Man
Ritual Divination
by Seán Leslie at 06 February 2021, 5:34 PM

HERE LIES MAN are an afro rock band from Los Angeles, California, USA. The band broke out on the scene in 2017 with their self titled debut album followed by their second album “You Will Know Nothing” and EP “Animal Noises” both in 2018 along with their third album “No Ground To Walk Upon” in 2019. However at that point the band only consisted of guitarist and vocalist Marco Garcia and drummer Geoff Mann. The band has a different twist on it this time in comparison to the prior releases by the band as now rather then being a two-piece they’re a four-piece as they welcome the bass skills of JP Maramba along with keyboard player Doug Organ to add something new to the fold for their newest release “Ritual Divination” via Riding Easy Records.

This album’s a long one, coming in with fifteen new tracks for fans to enjoy. It’s packed with the melodic guitar tone and complimentary vocals of Marcos Garcia, a jazz influenced drumming style of Geoff Mann which are held together well JP Maramba’s bass skills and complimented nicely by Doug Organ on keys.

The band released three singles prior to the release of this monstrous album, at the end October 2020 they released the album’s second track and first single “I Told You (You Shall Die)” and their second single album track number nine “Come Inside” wasn’t too far behind following at the beginning of December of 2020 and again the band didn’t waste any time getting their third and final pre release single out into the world for fans to enjoy as they released track number ten “Collector Of Vanities” in early January 2021 with the album itself following shortly their after in late January.

Despite having some quite dark sounding song titles such as “I Told You (You Shall Die)” and “Run Away Children” this album is quite up beat and happy sounding, and would definitely be something you could play for someone who may not be the biggest fan of classic rock or metal music, it’s got a nice vibe to it and I’d definitely recommend it to listeners, It sounds like if BLACK SABBATH were an afrobeat band rather then a metal band.

Songwriting: 7
Musicianship: 8
Memorability: 6
Production: 8

3 Star Rating

1. In These Dreams
2. I Told You (You Shall Die)
3. Underland
4. What You See
5. Can’t Kill It
6. Run Away Children
7. I Wander
8. Night Comes
9. Come Inside
10. Collector Of Vanities
11. Dissapointed
12. You Would Not See From Heaven
13. The Fates Have Won
14. Out Goes The Night
15. Cut Through The Tether
Marcos Garcia – Guitar/Vocals
JP Maramba – Bass
Geoff Mann – Drums
Doug Organ – Keyboard
Record Label: Riding Easy Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 09 February 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green