Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

42 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Hitten - First Strike With The Devil

First Strike With The Devil
by Matt Coe at 05 May 2014, 10:26 AM

From Spain comes the Heavy Metal quintet HITTEN and their debut album “First Strike with the Devil”. Each year the band has released some form of product since its 2011 inception, gradually moving up the ranks from demo to self-financed EP and a single prior to this release – so there should be no question that they are ready to gain a wider fan base through their sound.

Taking one look at their band logo, it becomes obvious that acts like JUDAS PRIEST and IRON MAIDEN factor heavily into the riffing, harmony, and arrangements of HITTEN. You can imagine the high octane material like “Evil Power” and “Punished by Speed” coming straight out of the 80’s scene, the latter more of a mixture of NWOBHM meets EXCITER, although the vocal choices of Aitor Navarro are very clear and melodic, in line with Bruce Dickinson or a slightly more serene Olof Wikstrand (ENFORCER).

The twin guitar team of Dani Argilés and Dani certainly know the tenets of tradeoffs, dual harmonies, and intertwining the riffs and lead breaks in such a way to build up the song’s pacing. The final two songs showcases all facets of their technique: fiery and flashy on “Stand & Fight” and more epic and emotive during the 6 minute plus closer “Nightmares Come True”. 8 songs in almost 40 minutes that should charge up the audiences and earn the band prime opening slots for the new and old traditional heavy metal brigade.

I do hope that on the follow up the band consider a different cover artist though, because as detailed as the front cover may be, the quality screams amateur a la WOLF and their first self-titled album. I’d hate for people to judge the output from the outside, instead of digging deeper into the music and release this is high quality stuff.

4 Star Rating

1. Demons
2. Evil Power
3. Looking for Action
4. Ladykiller
5. Running over Fire
6. Punished by Speed
7. Stand & Fight
8. Nightmares Come True
Aitor Navarro – Vocals
Dani Argilés – Guitar
Dani – Guitar
Horacio – Bass
Rhyno – Drums
Record Label: No Remorse Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green