Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

33 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Hooded Menace - Darkness Drips Forth Award winner

Hooded Menace
Darkness Drips Forth
by Sgt Slayer 666 at 28 December 2015, 11:36 AM

HOODED MENACE are a doom metal band from Finland that has been together since 2007 and have released several splits, 3 full length albums and now this is their 4th.

They open up this release with a bell chiming very slowly and a lead flowing in behind before the terror begins with the sludge and gloom that is typical of this genre. “Blood for the burning oath/ Dungeons of the disembodied” the opening track drips ominously along dragging you behind face down.

Elypsium Of Dripping Death” instantly bought TYPE OF NEGATIVE to mind and to be honest on first listening I had to stop and go listen to some to scratch the itch. Each track although very unique explores all facets of doom metal and keeps you interested right until the very end. “Ashen Of Solemn Decay” has an awesome soaring opening that reminded me of what draws me to doom metal and that is that even though it’s gloomy and fills your head with morbid thoughts dwelling in it creates a release.

The final track “Beyond Deserted Flesh” grinds you in to the ground with pummelling blows that leave you discarded on the ground. Pure sludge metal that sends chills down your spine this is why I enjoy doom metal so much.

This album although only has 4 tracks is 40 plus minutes of doom metal madness. I’m a fan of this kind of music and this album oozes doom metal goodness everywhere. With the average song length coming in at 10 minutes each every song keeps your attention and draws you in to listen more. There are plenty of waves to ride as this album rises then crashes again leaving you pummelled into the sand. The songs are filled with sweeping leads that will take your mind on an adventure.

4 Star Rating

1. Blood For The Burning Oath/ Dungeons Of The Disembodied
2. Elypsium Of Dripping Death
3. Ashen Of Solemn Decay
4. Beyond Deserted Flesh
Lasse Pyykko - Guitar, Vocals
Teemu - Guitar
Markus Makkonen - Bass
Pekka Koskelo - Drums
Record Label: Relapse Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 02 February 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green