Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

32 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Hootenanny Freaks - Freakshow Award winner

Hootenanny Freaks
by "Metal Mark" Garcia at 23 May 2019, 5:58 AM

To play a savage, crude and massive Rock ‘n’ Roll (in a way that can make walls crack) seems to be a trend today. But there are old bands from this specific genre that are still teaching the young one how things are. And the veteran quintet HOOTENANNY FREAKS, from Finland, still is a graduation teacher, for “Freakshow”, their latest album, is amazing! Their music can sound polite to many due the sound quality and even some Punk Rock, Heavy Metal and Power Metal influences can be detected on their melodies and choruses. But don’t let them deceive you: these nasty Rock ‘n’ Roll wolves are here to make you kneel down before them and surrender. You better do the second, because you’ll gain a great band to like a lot. Great and simple guitar riffs, melodic vocals, thunderous and heavy rhythm session, all works in a great in their hands.

The production of the album conceived a very good sound quality, clean and with very good defined instrumental tunes, but bearing the right amounts of weight, aggressiveness and crudeness. But all in a way that the listeners will understand what they are playing. “Jake Brake” is a nervous and sinuous Rock ‘n’ Roll rebel with and aggressive outfit and a melodic (and excellent) chorus, and the vocals are amazing; the rebellious anthems “Brooder” and “Freakshow”, both presenting excellent guitars; the aggressive nasty impact of “Killer Joe” and “Eileen”; and the melodies and chorus of “Whatever” (a solid rhythm and very good keyboards parts) are the best shots of the album. But don’t you dare to lose the remixes of “Storm is Rising” and “Rebel Soul” (both are fine pieces of Rock ‘n’ Roll, indeed), and the live shot for “Mean Man Killer” (their energy is amazing in such way). Great band, great album, so hear it as  loud as you can!

Originality: 8
Songwriting: 10
Memorability: 8
Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. Jake Brake
2. Brooder
3. Freakshow
4. Breakaway
5. Killer Joe
6. Eileen
7. Two Down
8. Whatever
9. Storm is Rising (Remix)
10. Rebel Soul (Remix)
11. Mean Man Killer (Live)
Pepe Tamminen - Vocals
Esko Kemell - Guitars
Aapo “Api” Häyrinen - Guitars, Keyboards
Marko “Montte” Leino - Bass
Marko Kuurne - Drums
Record Label: Secret Entertainment


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green