Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

56 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Horrific Demise – Excruciating Extermination

Horrific Demise
Excruciating Extermination
by Santiago Puyol at 12 September 2019, 10:15 AM

Bookended by folk-inspired, clean guitar patterns, and filled with brutal yet groovy Death Metal, "Excruciating Extermination" is the debut album by HORRIFIC DEMISE. Although started in 2005 by guitarist Matt Bishop, it wasn’t until 2013 that the band defined its current lineup, minus guitarist Tony Tipton, who came into the fold for the debut.

"Excruciating Extermination" is a half hour exercise on nasty riffing, great soloing, occasionally groovy basslines and chaotic drumming, all dressed with dueling harsh vocals. Horrific Demise deliver both on the brutality and on the songwriting. The short length of both the record and each of its nine tracks works perfectly, as they spare no time getting to the point and never get lost in repetitive meandering.

After a brief, soft intro, an amazing, shreddy guitar solo and intense blast beats by drummer Kyle Christman the listener is submerged into the frenzied world of the band. "Born from Brutality" feels like a declaration as well as being an excellent and fun opener. Some groovy bass runs by Phil Good keep things moving. "Suicidal Frenzy" goes next with doomy chords and interesting hi-hat work.

"Maggot Ridden Human Feast" gets even more frantic, emphasizing the presence of the bass to serve as an anchor to the song. Somehow, it manages to be one of the heaviest and roughest songs on the album, quite an achievement on a record that delivers brutal song after brutal song.

Being barely over four minutes long, "Cleansing the Putrescence" is the second longest song on the album, and adopts an epic vibe with its rhythm changes. It gets into meaty, BLACK SABBATH-inspired riffing somewhere mid-point. A Classical-inspired guitar solo provides a nice touch and some Classic Metal feels amidst the chaos.

"Apogee of Blaspheme" once again focuses on the brutality of the drums, while "Religious Hypocrisy" allows the incorporation of spoken word and ambient samples, in tune with the theme of the song, in a very tongue in cheek way. Vaguely Middle Eastern melodies creep into the composition and vocals get at their most demonic on the chorus. It ends as abrupt as "Introduction to Atrocity" starts. There is a noisier, denser approach to songwriting here.

The last two tracks keep on delivering brutality. "Voracious Cravings" is yet another highlight for Christman with some complex, syncopated drumming. Closer "Until Only We Remain" is the longest song here, and shares the epic feel of "Cleansing the Putrescence", with some tempo and rhythm shifts. It carries a nostalgic atmosphere, never sacrificing the heaviness. Four minutes in, everything ends up fading into a reprise of the pastoral, melancholic intro.

Although Horrific Demise is not reinventing the wheel with "Excruciating Extermination"; they deliver a raw, heavy, intense and fun album to listen and headbang to. With a more than appropriate production that truly captures the sound they want to capture, and solid songwriting, this is a promising band.

Songwriting: 9
Originality: 6
Memorability: 7
Production: 8

4 Star Rating

1. Born from Brutality
2. Suicidal Frenzy
3. Maggot Ridden Human Feast
4. Cleansing the Putrescence
5. Apogee of Blaspheme
6. Religious Hypocrisy
7. Introduction to Atrocity
8. Voracious Craving
9. Until Only We Remain
Matt Bishop – Vocals & Guitars
Anthony Voight – Lead Vocals
Tony Tipton – Guitars
Kyle Christman – Drums
Phil Good – Bass
Record Label: Comatose Music


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green