Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

47 guests

Welcome to our newest member, umogox

In Malice’s Wake - Eternal Nightfall Award winner

In Malice’s Wake
Eternal Nightfall
by V.Srikar at 05 July 2015, 2:12 PM

It’s quite a different feeling when you review a classic album compared to a new album which is more of an anticipation. This debut album “Eternal Nightfall” by cult legendary Thrashers IN MALICE’S WAKE has everything going for it, and one mustn’t forget that this was originally released way back in 2008, and now again re-released by Punishment 18 Records this June 6th.

The album starts with an “Intro” and smoothly sails into the 2nd song “Pay The Price” with the same tune and riffage creating the required anticipatory juices in the listener’s minds! The music is simple Technical Thrash Metal with cheesy solos here and there backed by excellent screaming vocals by Shaun Farrugia. The title track “Eternal Nightfall” is your quintessential Thrash anthem just pounding in your face, with those slight Punkish drum work.  “Bitter Demise” continuous in similar sharp riffs, slightly groovy, but enough variety to keep you interested. With “To Run With The Darkness…” the sound seems to get chaotic during the vocals part, but with sharp riffs the music sounds as sweet as mere words can’t describe. The solos are really screaming out to get your attention, largely thanks to the guitarists’ innovativeness and it simply works right away as most importantly they aren’t overdone. “Man-Made Death” brings in some signature riffs only IN MALICE’S WAKE could have brought in and packs so much just under 4 minutes, makes the listener’s time really worth it.

“Weakness In Numbers” hit a personal chord with me due to the lyrics as I really do have weakness in numbers, and frankly the music is actually good too, combining a bit old school Traditional Heavy Metal with raw Thrash Metal that so many bands have tried and failed, but these boys get it right. Just when you think that the album is unidirectional in its high tempo aggressive Thrash, “Where Silence Hides (Instrumental)” pops in with its mid-tempo, rather slow instrumental which quite frankly didn’t get my nod as the music sounded kind of pale. The original album would have ended with an excellent epic Thrash anthem in “Mental Disarray”, but this re-release packs in songs from the band’s 2005 EP “Blackened Skies” which is actually pretty cool, as we get to listen to 2 records in 1 pack! “To Run With The Darkness” is another brutal Thrash anthem, as the band still manages have enough variety and flavor to get your attention. This section of the record, i.e. the EP part seems to have more chaotic song structure compared to the original album part, but still packs enough meet to keep the fire going. “As Dusk Covers Day” and “Weakness In Numbers” sound more like Part 1 and Part 2 of the same song as they have similar riffs with extensive song writing, but all good in my books at the end of the day.

All in all, this re-release is a must pick up for new IN MALICE’S WAKE fans as it will expose them to one of the best modern Thrash acts that Australia has put in recent years. This is simply Thrash beauty at its beast.

4 Star Rating

1. Intro
2. Pay The Price
3. Eternal Nightfall
4. Bitter Demise
5. To Run With The Darkness…
6. Man-Made Death
7. The Path Less Travelled
8. As Dusk Covers Day…
9. Weakness In Numbers
10. Where Silence Hides (Instrumental)
11. Mental Disarray
12. To Run With The Darkness. (Blackened Skies EP)
13. Blackened Skies (Blackened Skies EP)
14. As Dusk Covers Day. (Blackened Skies EP)
15. Weakness In Numbers (Blackened Skies EP)
Shaun Farrugia - Vocals, Guitar
Mark Farrugia - Drums
Karl Watterson - Bass
Leigh Bartley - Lead Guitars
Record Label: Punishment 18 Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green