Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

39 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

J.Rad - Sick Fantasy

Sick Fantasy
by Isha Shah at 08 February 2015, 11:42 PM

From their first EP released in 2010, J.RAD have progressed a sluggish speed to a final release of a full-length record in 2015, titled “Sick Fantasy”. The North Babylon, NY bands are described to be one of the freshest Hard Rock and a great tribute to classic Rock music. This record is taking a new direction for the band as it explores their deeper sounds with deep narrative tracks that elope twisted stories.

With a mammoth of 16 tracks to devour, the quartet have produced more than they can stomach with a lengthily album that is sure to keep you entertained for an hour. If you do love your classic Rock music that is hard hitting but not plastered with the generic layering of screamed vocals that amateur bands seem to construct, then J.RAD are a band for you as they cut all of that bullshit out and harvest dated music for an older audience of fans.

“Breaking The Silence” with the first track, which is cleverly named and placed, it creates an icebreaker to the record that allows a new audience to get a good sense to what the band are about. Adding soothing vocals found within the chorus, the track is evenly spread to build into a high tempo bridge that is joined by the classic guitar solo tune, whilst still keeping a vocal layer on top.

There are a fair few tracks that are similar in tones, however each carries their own distinct vibe found in “Into The Water”, a track that hints subtly sounds of BLACK STONE CHERRY bridging on their limper tone. Nothing in “Sick Fantasy” is remarkably fast pace or high on energy that you loose yourself too, however it does give you a nice relaxed aura that fills the room with memorable spirits.

This track then contrasts with “Poison” which speeds up slightly, setting the atmosphere with edger tones that are more bitter and angry. As this song progresses the next follow along with it, giving the record a sense of diversity in mood balance.

Dipping into an instrumental dominated track, “Push” releases a spastic energy onto your senses, reminding your ears of a TENACIOUS D like tone. However the album does end on a high, animated noted with “Who’s Laughing Now” breaking a bashing intro. Ending the album with that anticipated guitar solo that sums up J. RAD seamlessly.

4 Star Rating

1. Breaking the Silence
2. Bombs Away
3. Is Anyone Listening
4. Rather Die
5. Into the Water
6. Hold On
7. Poiison
8. Comatose
9. Hotbox
10. Hate to Love You
11. Push
12. Scrape
13. I Don’t
14. King of the Castle
15. Suicide
16. Who’s Laughing Now
Jared Cannata - Guitar, Vocals
Mo Sticky - Drums, Vocals
Gino Rudolph - Lead Vocals
Kareem Clarke - Bass
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green