Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

37 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Jeff Scott Soto - Live At Firefest 2008

Jeff Scott Soto
Live At Firefest 2008
by Mike Novak at 05 December 2010, 5:12 PM

Jeff Scott Soto, best known for his stints singing for Yngwie Malmsteen and filling in for JOURNEY, is at it again with another live album. I guess he is a bigger deal in Europe than America, because for a solo show here, he would be lucky to draw fifty fans. If there’s a market for his live albums in Europe, however, I cannot hold it against the labels for releasing so many live albums from him.

Being unfamiliar with Soto’s solo work or any of his projects (where he participated in writing new material), I had not really heard him aside from the Yngwie albums he sang on. I was struck by how similar he sounds to Doug Pinnick of KING’S X. His voice is soulful and does well in a live setting.

The backing band is solid and I would have loved to hear more opportunities for guitarist Howie Simon to show off his skills. Sadly, a lot of the songs on here are of the AOR variety (no metal to be found here, folks), so the focus is primarily on the vocals. There are a few rockier songs that do include solos. There is clearly an influence of funk present too.

I guess this could serve as a decent enough starting point (or even as a best-of) for those looking for something easily accessible to listen to. Certainly nothing groundbreaking, and I doubt that those who already own one of the recent live albums would need another, but hey, it’s their money. Oh, and considering that the set is only 70 minutes, there was no need for this to be a double-album.

3 Star Rating

  1. Century
  2. Colour My XTC (prelude)
  3. Soul Divine
  4. Drowning
  5. Our Song
  6. DD Solo
  7. Guitar Jam
  8. Mountain
  9. Eyes Of Love
  10. Testify
  11. Broken Man
  12. Hey
  13. Crazy
  14. Piano Medley
  15. Gin & Tonic Sky
  16. I'll Be Waiting
  17. Funky Medley
Jeff Scott Soto - Vocals
Howie Simon - Guitar, Vocals
Gary Schutt - Bass, Vocals
David Dzialak - Drums, Vocals
Record Label: Frontiers Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 21 March 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green