Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

35 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Jerkstore – The Great Time Robbery

The Great Time Robbery
by John Paul Romero at 02 January 2020, 8:12 PM

JERKSTORE is a Heavy Metal band from the lands of Denmark. Born in 1997, the band used to be a four-piece but shrunk into a trio lately – and released their sixth incarnation by the closing end of the year 2019. The sound of the album is so classic it combines a healthy dose of heaviness with a groovy Blues sound.

One thing’s certain: the album contains killer riffs. First two songs “Pile of Excuses” and “Hall of Mirrors” set the tone early, with the follow up of “The Uphill Climb” kicking off briefly with a jazzy tune before unleashing staggering riffs. The songs sure contain big hooks and catchy melodies, but the songs that stood out are “Dirty Game”, ”Mountains Can Be Moved”, and “While We Wait for Light”.

Messing with the album (positively) is “Blindness” – the only song in the album based on a mid-paced tempo. Obviously, they do really good playing with this kind of mood, and I wished there were a couple more songs like this in the album for it brings dynamism and also serves as a short pit stop in between heavy and groovy songs. Meanwhile, “In the Blood” sticks out as the heaviest song the album had to offer. It possesses the attitude of classic Hard Rock and the class of NWOBHM – all with a very simple yet so effective song structure. Another heavy track is “Burn My Letters” which featured the nastiest riffs in the album along with a rumbling bass furnished with a lengthy epic outro.

It can be safely claimed that “The Great Time Robbery” is an accumulation of over 20 years of Heavy Metal mastery. It has loads of stuff to brag – and majority come with a surprise! This is simply classic Heavy Metal at its finest with a bite of blues – reminiscent of old LED ZEPPELIN and BLUE CHEER but with exceptional heaviness.

Songwriting: 8
Musicianship: 8
Memorability: 8
Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. Pile of Excuses
2. Hall of Mirrors
3. The Uphill Climb
4. Dirty Game
5. Blindness
6. I’ll Never Smile Again
7. The Search Will Never End
8. Mountains Can Be Moved
9. In The Blood
10. Burn My Letters
11. While We Wait for Light
Stefan V. – Drums
Keld Rud – Vocals, Guitars
Lars Jorgensen – Bass
Record Label: Art Gates Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green