Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

Steinmetal, 39 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Jessica Wolff - Grounded

Jessica Wolff
by Dana Lautzenheiser at 07 February 2018, 2:14 AM

“Grounded” is the sophomore release for Finnish artist JESSICA WOLFF. The actress, stunt double, musician released her first album “Renegade” in 2013 to Finland, Japan, and India, but this time around the songstress is ready to release her music to the world. Jessica’s music is rock driven pop accompanied by restless, thought provoking, feisty lyrics. Songs like “Reckless” and “Chase Me Down” give the impression that Jessica is a free spirited woman on the move and not one who is easy to tie down.

“Playing for Keeps” has an earnestness to the tone. The bridge builds intensely into a melodic chorus about being committed to a tumultuous relationship. “War” follows with a heavier sound than the tracks we have heard thus far. This confrontational track starts out percussively with dramatic drum beats and a sing songy verse that bleeds into an emotional, energetic refrain.

Jessica sweetens the album, but keeps up the intensity with “Under Your Spell” a binding, atmospheric piano track. The title track, “Grounded” has an electronic/rock sound. The track stands out with a catchy, unsettled melodic line. “Arrow” is an appealing, upbeat rock song with poppy vocals. Jessica’s song writing style seems to consist of quieter, slower verses paired with compelling, ardent refrains thematically centered around self discovery and relationship struggles. I think that the material would appeal to young women and teenage girls who are finding themselves and figuring out what they want from life. Jessica slows things down again with another ballad in “Saving Someone Else.”

The album livens with pop punk track “Roots”, before the memorable “Magic Castle”. The latter, seeming to be a metaphor about feeling out of place in the world and faking your way through. I imagine this song will have a fantastically vivid music video as the track lends itself to a host of imagery about smoke, mirrors, beauty, and illusion. “Love Me Like You Never Did Before” rounds out the album with one more emotionally wrought rock ode. The songs were well written and catchy with a certain amount of predictability. Wolff has the potential to catch on in the world of pop music, but time will tell if she gains a following.

Songwriting: 6
Originality: 5
Memorability: 6
Production: 9
Overall: 6.5

3 Star Rating

1. Reckless
2. Chase Me Down
3. Playing for Keeps
4. War
5. Under Your Spell
6. Grounded
7. Arrow
8. Saving Someone Else
9. Roots
10. Magic Castle
11. Love Me Like You Never Did Before
Jessica Wolff – Vocals
Ari Manninen – Guitar
Sebastian Lindqvist – Guitar
Cheri Martin – Bass
Jarno Vanhanen – Drums
Record Label: Metalapolis Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 30 September 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green