Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

MetalDaveCampbell, 40 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Job For A Cowboy - Sun Eater Award winner

Job For A Cowboy
Sun Eater
by Aaron "Five Magics" Price at 10 November 2014, 9:52 PM

The latest release from JOB FOR A COWBOY is almost like an entire new debut album. The band has completely reformed themselves with their latest Metal Blade Records release, "Sun Eater." Although I've seen the band live twice and didn't enjoy them either time, this album gives me new hope and makes me want to see them again when they're around. The album features much more of a Death Metal feel than their previous works but Jonny Davy keeps true to his style of vocals while honing them more than anything released previously. Not to mention the bass is cranked on this album and you can hear the excellent work done by Nick Schendzielos.

The album opens with two of the previously released songs, "Eating The Visions Of God" and "Sun Of Nihility" before going into the track that really made this album for me, "The Stone Cross." Although I'm not entirely sure why this song stood out most to me outside of the amazing musicianship everyone brings to it, once the album started streaming I saw someone point out that it has a CRADLE OF FILTH kind of sound to it. Who wouldn't want to hear a JOB FOR A COWBOY style CRADLE OF FILTH song, right? The other song I want to talk about is "Worming Nightfall" the final track on the album. This song has a brilliant pace to it, the beat is heavy as all hell but its sort of slow, its the perfect style of song to close out an album (and a concert).

All in all, holy shit. This album is far from what I expected from a JOB FOR A COWBOY release and man I love it. Its totally worth checking out even if you never really liked the band, but that's just my opinion.

4 Star Rating

1. Eating The Visions Of God
2. Sun Of Nihility
3. The Stone Cross
4. The Synthetic Sea
5. A Global Shift
6. The Celestial Antidote
7. Encircled By Mirrors
8. Buried Monuments
9. Worming Nightfall
Jonny Davy - Vocals
Alan Glassman - Guitars
Tony Sannicandro - Guitars
Nick Schendzielos - Bass
Danny Walker - Drums
Record Label: Metal Blade Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green