Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

31 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Joey Summer - Even The Saints Are Sinners

Joey Summer
Even The Saints Are Sinners
by Joellen "FreshMetalGal" Patterson at 12 August 2013, 12:36 PM

Hailing from Brazil, JOEY SUMMER and guest musicians bring us his latest offering in “Even The Saints Are Sinners”. Perris Records states that Mr. Summer’s music has an appeal to fans of TOTO, JADED HEART, STREET TALK, EUROPE. The EUROPE resemblance is immediately apparent from the first notes of “Another Shot”. There is something TOTO-esque about “Our Love Is Waiting”. “Happy Children” gave quite a fright in the first few measures due to its resemblance to “The Macarena”. “Shot In The Mirror” proves to be the most impressive track. It is a solid, driving finale by the band as a whole. It has some edge to it that all previous non-balladic tracks lack.

It is apparent that Mr. Summer has been singing since a young age. His voice is clear as a bell and he achieves power with seemingly little effort. The harmonies are tight. The lyrics are par for the course of the 80s melodic Rock style. His guitar army is quite impressive. I would like to hear in what other genres Mr. Summer applies his vocals, as well as experience other projects for which Peter Ostros and David Mark Pierce are a part.

Although musically, it does not seem that anyone had a toe out of line, “Even The Saints Are Sinners” just did not reach out and grab me. In this genre, a little goes a long way sometimes. I respect Mr. Summer’s talent and will keep an ear open for other projects that may change my mind. Dear reader, if you are a die-hard fan of the above mentioned bands, this album will be a good pick.

3 Star Rating

1. Another Shot
2. Happy Children
3. Our Love Is Waiting
4. Lucky One
5. On The Road
6. Hearts In Flames
7. No Matter Where You Go
8. Looking For Love
9. Shot In The Mirror
Joey Summer - Vocals, Guitar
Sascha Spiegel – Drums
Michael Muller – Bass
Peter Ostros – Guitar
David Mark Pierce - Guitar
Record Label: Perris Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green