Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

ProfBurp, 34 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Judas Priest - Defenders Of The Faith (30th Anniversery Reissue) Award winner

Judas Priest
Defenders Of The Faith (30th Anniversery Reissue)
by Michael Coyle at 18 February 2015, 4:58 PM

There comes a time for every writer when they are given the chance to review one of their favorite bands, as well one of their favorite records that it seems unreal, today I am reviewing one of the most important records of my childhood, a record which defined the term heavy metal and also gave us the battle cry in which we used to defend the faith to which we cherished as Heavy Metal and as the music which guided us from a young age into the men and women we became today. I cannot express how honored and excited I am to be reviewing this masterpiece of Metal, so without further delay.

Rise Defenders of Metal, Rise DEFENDERS OF THE FAITH!!!!!!!

I wanted to start this one off with my favorite off of this record, a song that really brings it all home for a lot of us, a song that entitles us to defend what we know and what we love, so what do
we become, we become a “Sentinel”!!!! Since I was young this has always been an anthem for me and so many of my friends just because it stands as a reminder of what is important in life, when you hear this song the first thing you think about is that opening riff that just makes you want to go wild and forget your worries and I think that is the true quality of a song of this nature, it's fast and it's heavy but most of all it is a perfect representation of what Heavy Metal is, fast, heavy and loud as hell but also the fact it has inspired so many musicians of all ages which is the real definition of this song I believe.

We now come to another classic entitled “Love Bites” and trust me folks it does bite! From the very beginning this track pulls in the listener with interest and anticipation, it is a strong song that really speaks out to the listener and allows for the listener to grab on and take that first step into this incredible piece of Metal. Though what really can be said about this song is that it is a solid piece of classic guitar and bass work that follows through and gives the listener something to sing along to. If anything this is an anthem for those who have been hurt but also to those that still believe there is still more to come and that is the beauty of this track, yes it's heavy and yes it is something that makes you raise your fist to the sky but it is also a beacon of hope to those that have no hope Though that is how I have always seen this song, I can say when I've felt down this has been one of many songs that has lifted my spirits and has allowed me to feel stronger just for listening to it.

Through their carrier JUDAS PRIEST have remained a band that have been able to keep a legacy so strong that it is carved in stone and continues to carve deeper into our hearts as both musicians and as Metal fans.

5 Star Rating

CD1 - Defenders of the Faith Remastered:

1. Freewheel Burning
2. Jawbreaker
3. Rock Hard Ride Free
4. The Sentinel
5. Love Bites
6. Eat Me Alive
7. Some Heads Are Gonna Roll
8. Night Comes Down
9. Heavy Duty
10. Defenders of the Faith

CD2 - Live at Long Beach Arena, California May 5th, 1984:

1. Love Bites
2. Jawbreaker
3. Grinder
4. Metal Gods
5. Breaking the Law
6. Sinner
7. Desert Plains
8. Some Heads Are Gonna Roll
9. The Sentinel
10. Rock Hard Ride Free

CD3 - Live at Long Beach Arena, California 5th May 1984:

1. Night Comes Down
2. The Hellion
3. Electric Eye
4. Heavy Duty
5. Defenders of the Faith
6. Freewheel Burning
7. Victim of Changes
8. The Green Manalishi (With the Two-Pronged Crown)
9. Living After Midnight
10. Hell Bent For Leather
11. You’ve Got Another Thing Coming
Rob Halford - Vocals
Dave Holland - Drums
Iam Hill - Bass
K.K Downing - Guitars
Glenn Tipton - Guitars
Record Label: Columbia / Legacy Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green