Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

49 guests

Welcome to our newest member, AlexBarnard

Laceration - Demise Award winner

by Craig Rider at 04 October 2021, 6:23 AM

Metal maniacs, rejoice! I am proud to present to you: LACERATION; signed via Rotted Life Records, hailing from the United States of America - performing Death/Thrash Metal, on their debut album entitled: “Demise” (released July 16th, 2021). Since formation in 2006; the quartet in question have 4 Singles entitled: “Demo ‘08” (released January 10th, 2008) “Realms Of The Unconscious” (released May 1st, 2010), “Imitation” (released November 16th, 2018) and “2012 Demo” (released  June 12th, 2020). An EP entitled “Consuming Reality” (released June 1st, 2009), a Split entitled: “Laceration / Tinnitus 2013 Split” (released August 2nd, 2013), a Compilation entitled: “Remnants” (released February 8th, 2019) & this here debut album entitled: “Demise”. 11 tracks ranging at around 52:47; LACERATION arranges an intricately designed formula on some heavy-hitting Death/Thrash Metal amalgamations.

Opening up with the ominous introductory acoustic of the titular track, this rampantly rompy savagery engages a brutal calamity in belting clobbering & gnarly distortion in a barraged frenzy of bulldozing heft. Groveling with snarly adrenaline in hostile bludgeoning, amplified bounciness & boisterous chugging - LACERATION starts things off with a grinding bang. Until "Verbal Expiration" goes in with full force impact, slaying with ruthless pandemonium & volatile trailblazing, skyrocketing tonality rifts with punchy tightness amongst a deadly strike on sonically seamless pursuits which sulfurously stampedes with sinister meatiness. While "Bed Of Nails'' rips & tears with steamrolling piercings, where rampaging chisels blasphemously berserks eardrums with malicious mayhem that your neck & soul will be grateful for.

Consisting of Luke Cazares on vocals/guitars; the front man excels at a grueling bombardment in raspy throatiness that surges with shouty yells, guttural growls and grunty barks that bellow with oppressive wrath. While the guitars create a dexterously dynamic rift on organic substance, rapidly swift nimbleness & weighty thuds of sturdy malevolence that rivets with monstrous malignancy. "Monolith" showcases relentless virtuosity on quintessential synergies in flamboyant firepower expertise, attributing in concretely gritty but barbaric crunchiness and an infectiously venomous overdose on thumpy yet piledriving momentum where visceral maelstrom technicalities supplies rigourous ramifications on hammering drum slams that tremble with kicking cymbals from battering drummer Faustino Rodriquez on top of an extra thick layer on hybrid experimentation blasts ferocious beats chunkily - especially in "Inhumation" which incorporates a horrifying outtake right off the bat for immersive intensity.

This release isn't as complicated examining wise; most of it is literally a laceration on killer, neck-breaking impalement for anyone brave enough to possess themselves with this demonizing embodiment in devastating but bloody good headbanging material. Twinning guitars attack with rhythmic leads from Donnie Small, on top of a collateral domination in flickering bass conundrums from Corey Toleu. Songs like "Perpetual Sickness" & "Human Malevolence" crafts a clamouring boundary in a borderline foundation of steely precision throughout a fast-paced profanity on versatile vehemence amongst a distinctively distinguished slab on solidly profuse robustness that thrashes with extreme aggression stridently.

"Imitation" & "Weaponized Dominion" unapologetically provide a choppy fabrication in dense distribution, flourishing with strong pummels that pound speakers with rattling remedy as chaotic havoc continuously smacks you with unrelenting tempos & outbursting vigour salubriously which your neck will be most thankful for. Another gruesome penultimate track "Parasomnia" systematically subjugates this whirlwinding vortex on vicious virulence, stompy rage & stampeding splatter-house revs that saw with ripping revocation until this pugnacious conclusion epically finalises an overall rupture in implosion within the bruising end of "Severed Innocence" which totally triggers this satanic possession over you to break chairs over other chairs intensely.

Bottom line; I am compelled to say that "Demise" is a Death Metal record that was most needed, out bursting with utmost deadliness and a foreboding execution in diligently detailed domination that practically begs to be discovered. An enjoyably entertaining listen that most surely deserves a good handful of spins that needs to be repeated a bunch of times, all Death Metal maniacs alike will LOVE this release - a great start to newcomers also. Do check it out!

Songwriting: 9
Musicianship: 9
Memorability: 9
Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. Demise
2. Verbal Expiration
3. Bed Of Nails
4. Monolith
5. Inhumation
6. Perpetual Sickness
7. Human Malevolence
8. Imitation
9. Weaponized Dominion
10. Parasomnia
11. Severed Innocence
Donnie Small - Guitars (Lead)
Corey Toleu - Bass
Luke Cazares - Vocals/Guitars
Faustino Rodriquez - Drums
Record Label: Rotted Life


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green