Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

40 guests

Welcome to our newest member, umogox

Like Moths to Flames – Where The Light Refuses To Go

Like Moths to Flames
Where The Light Refuses To Go
by Brad Pfundheller at 20 January 2020, 6:14 AM

From Columbus, Ohio, LIKE MOTHS TO FLAMES has released their fourth EP titled “Where the Light Refuses to Go”, their first after parting ways with Rise Records and signing to UNFD. Formed in the early months of 2010, they have had numerous lineup changes over the years but vocalist Chris Roetter has been with the band since the creation in beginning days. This three track EP was released on November 13th, 2019 via UNFD.

The first song on the EP is “All That You Lost” and after a quiet unsuspecting intro, the bands blasts off right out of the gates with fantastic alternate picking and low growls from the vocalist. The chorus is shaped with the calming clean vocals that help remind you of the sound they’re known for. “Smoke and Mirrors” to me gives off the vibes of classic Metalcore. There is lots of down picking and double kick pedals along with amazing vocal ranges. The last and final song on the EP is “Into The Black” and it begins with guitar pulses before the drums enter along with the lead guitarist. The vocals enter in with the same calming vocal patterns before shifting slightly heavier. Towards the end of the track it throws you into a breakdown that will no doubt get you moving at one of their shows.

These three tracks pack a lot of punch for it only being a short EP. LIKE MOTHS TO FLAMES has done it again in the Metalcore scene to give the fans what they want to hear from the band, but also leaving very intricate patterns in their music. They are no doubt a talented band and now that they have signed to UNFD I can’t wait to hear what they will release in the future. I have a feeling that this EP was just a preview of what’s to come.

Songwriting: 7
Musicianship: 8
Memorability: 7
Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. All That You Lost
2. Smoke and Mirrors
3. Into the Black
Chris Roetter – Vocals
Jeremy Smith – Guitar
Zach Pishney – Guitar
Aaron Evans – Bass
Record Label: UNFD


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 29 September 2020

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green