Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

44 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Mad Max - Interceptor

Mad Max
by YngwieViking at 14 October 2013, 10:00 PM

Michael Voss is a really busy musician, a self-made man that stands as one of the most hard-working characters in the Traditional Euro-Metal scene, and one of the most prolific as a songwriter. A guitar player, a singer, a producer that is known as the leader of many legendary bands such as CASANOVA / DEMON DRIVE or WOLFPAKK, recently fronting nothing less than MSG and of course as the Lead singer/Lead guitar player for 80’s survivors MAD MAX. The MAD MAX career is spread for over than 30 years with many turmoils, splits, stops and restarts, but now the band is composed by the same line-up of original players, they went in between to play with JADED HEART / CASANOVA / TANNER.

”Interceptor” is the name of their latest album, a release that is focused on the Hard Rocking side of MAD MAX and on the most edgy vibes, full-throttle from start to finish with no ballads or mellow songs. The opening track “Save Me” is a good example, of how the sing-along Melody and pure energy can melt in a perfect amalgam fusion of Rock dynamics, easily the best cut. There is something for everyone, sharp riffing, mid tempo and an anthemic chorus from the great Hair Metal book. The remaining tracks are more or less in the same vein, with some fun lyrics inspired by their numerous experiences (“Rock All Your Life” / ”Streets Of Tokyo”) and the now obligatory cover of THE SWEET with their hit , the 1974’s “Turn It Down” a very good habit, if you ask me, as I’m also a big fan of this legendary outfit from England.

The faultless production and the vocals are exemplary, it’s the strongest assets of this release, the originality isn’t the priority or the goal, just a good fun and a positive attitude in order to make you roll. The eighth track is a new version, it’s one of their rarer song that appeared as a bonus track in some foreign edition of “Night Of Passion” in 1987, this fresh rendition is heaviest than ever with no keys , just a big fat six-strings-attack in their noble Headbanging tradition.

A solid release with all the basic ingredients to rock your night away.

3 Star Rating

1. Save Me
2. Godzilla
3. Sons Of Anarchy
4. Rock All Your Life
5. Five Minute Warning
6. Bring On The Night
7. Streets Of Tokyo
8. Show No Mercy
9. Revolution
10. Turn It Down
Michael Voss – Lead Vocals/Lead Guitar
Jürgen Breforth – Guitars
Roland Bergmann – Bass/Vocals
Axel Kruse – Drums
Record Label: SPV / Steamhammer Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 01 December 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green