Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

28 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Magnum - The Serpent Rings Award winner

The Serpent Rings
by Jojo Hamilton at 21 January 2020, 4:20 AM

MAGNUM, a band EVERYONE knows! These guys have been rocking our world for a legendary 42 years this year! I have the pleasure of reviewing their new album “The Serpent Rings” & as a life long MAGNUM fan I am one happy writer! I discovered MAGNUM around the age of 6 or 7 years so have been a fan for over 30 years and it’s a great pleasure to write this review. So who are MAGNUM? They are the band who over 42 years have wrote & recorded 21 studio albums, 10 live albums, 10 compilation albums 10 singles and another 10 Videos/DVDs! That is in my opinion, what you can truly call a successful metal career! Credit must go to Tony Clarkin, the bands guitarist & songwriter who after all these years is still writing great lyrics. And credit to the entire band (past & present) for bringing us album after album of Classic Metal for over 4 decades! MAGNUM originally formed back in 1972 & released their first single a cover of “Sweets For My Sweet” in 1975 so these guys have toured the block on more than a few occasions. The new album “The Serpent Rings” which was released a few days ago, Jan 17th 2020 and is available on CD, double vinyl LP, limited box set and for digital download.

So to summarise the brand new 11 track album I will point out what I think are a few highlights of the album. The opening song “Where Are You Eden” opens with that classic MAGNUM instrumental way we all know & love, giving way Bob Catley’s classy vocals. The guitar riffs in this song are as fine as ever & the drum beats are crystal! Its a song about searching for paradise & these guys know how to take you there! “Madman Or Messiah” is song number 3 on the new album. Its quite a softly sung song but brings heavier back tones to the game and makes for a great song to get your hair swinging over. It’s a very melodic piece of work with a fantastical played instrumental section, and is definitely one not to be missed. Another excellent song is song number 5 “Not Forgiven”. A song that opens with some awesome guitar riffs followed by the drums then vocals bringing ecstasy to the ears. A song for broken lovers perhaps, or a break up song with style, class & a sharp bite! Song number 8 “The Great Unknown”, is a great tune. It opens slowly and gently like the feeling you get from touching soft fur. Quite a touching song and one that gets a heavier tone as it goes on. One more sneak peak at the songs on “The Serpent Rings” is song number 10 “The Last One On Earth”. Its a catchy number with lyrics that make you think deeply about what you have in life. A song to make you feel appreciative of what life gives us. Almost a tear-jerker of a song! If you are a life long fan, like myself or of the younger generation and are unfamiliar with MAGNUM, my suggestion is to get stuck right into this album, turn it up loud and let the neighbours hear the awesome tunes your playing!

In my opinion, MAGNUM have once again wrote, performed, recorded & produced another amazing album. This comes as no surprise from a band with so much history who are still rocking the metal world after so many years. They have lost nothing musically or vocally and sound just as great as they always have. I’d say the new album “The Serpent Rings” is well worth a listen & I’ve actually listened to it twice as I have enjoyed it so much. If you like Classic Metal your gonna love this album! So what are you waiting for? This review has come to an end & it’s time for you to stop reading & start listening! Go get a copy either physical or digital, and I guarantee you will not be disappointed!

Songwriting: 10
Musicianship: 10
Memorability: 10
Production: 10

5 Star Rating

1. Where Are You Eden
2. You Can’t Run Faster Than Bullets
3. Madman Or Messiah
4. The Archway Of Tears
5. Not Forgiven
6. The Serpent Rings
7. House Of Kings
8. The Great Unknown
9. Man
10. The Last One On Earth
11. Crimson On The White Sand
Tony Clarkin - Guitars
Bob Catley - Vocals
Rick Benton - Keyboards
Lee Morris - Drums
Dennis Ward - Bass
Record Label: SPV/Steamhammer


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 05 December 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green