Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

74 guests

Welcome to our newest member, patrickbarnes

Magnus – Scarlet Slaughterer

Scarlet Slaughterer
by Ricardo “Lebzul” Brenes at 06 February 2021, 5:03 PM

This album is quite special, it is a reissue of the first album by one of the pioneering bands in the Death/Thrash scene not only in their native Poland, but across the globe, when the power of Thrash Metal ruled the world and was giving room the a growing Death Metal scene, this is one of the bands that walked that thin line between both styles.

“Scarlet Slaughterer” was originally recorded in 1989, so don’t expect top quality production here. The overall sound is that of most early Thrash and Death bands back then including some of the records I personally cherish the most. Even so, most of the album is quite listenable and I particularly enjoy how the great bass work and sound in songs like “Pahrisee”, “Confession” or “Leprosy” all 100% non-stop pedal to the metal.

There is very strong SLAYER influence in songs like “Tomb” or “Crosses of War” which sound as if these were B-sides to singles from “Hell Awaits” which came out a few years earlier. This can give you an idea of the quality and ferocity of the music and vocals which are similar to the style of Tom Araya back then, more aggressive, on the edge of Death Metal most of the time, this was the filthy, pure way of making evil Thrash Metal back then. The filthiness in the guitar sound reminds me of early BATHORY, DESTRUCTION and SODOM as well, there is a lot of great riffing throughout the record if you pay attention.

This is a true classic, there is no doubt about it, when you transport yourself to 1989 (if you’re old enough like me) and play this record imagining it was back then, you get blown away by the aggressiveness of it. It is meant to be brutal, raw and evil. All of the long-praised elements that made the old school bands great is present here, even the eventual high-pitched loud screaming. It also contains 9 bonus tracks, including three live versions never before released. If you are a true fan of the early years, get a hold of this record.

Songwriting:  8
Musicianship:  8
Memorability:  8
Production:  7

4 Star Rating

1. Trash Attack
2. Tomb
3. Pharisee
4. Confession
5. Crosses of War
6. Messenger of Hell
7. Scarlet Slaughterer
8. Man Condemned
9. Destruction
10. Leprosy
11. Rabies
12. Achtung Magnus
13. Trash Attack
14. Spowiedz
15. Leprosy
16. Skazaniec
17. Destrukzia
18. Achtung Magnus
19. Tomb
20. Pharisee
21. Achtung Magnus
Rob Bandit – Vocals
Python – Guitars
Bastard – Guitars
Edi – Bass
Jaras – Drums
Record Label: Awakening Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green