Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

37 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Masterstroke - Broken

by Vasilis Odontidis at 18 February 2013, 11:46 AM

“Broken” is the fourth album by the Finish Heavy Metallers MASTERSTROKE. The band sounds like a Heavy Metal version of IN FLAMES with emphasis on clear vocals (which are way better) while keeping the modern sound and guitar riffing.

The record has eight tracks and goes on for thirty five minutes approximately. The cover is typical - but nothing really extraordinary. The music goes in the same motive. While they are playing really nice, have lots of cool riffs and chugging down tuned guitars, a vocalist with great capabilities they unfortunately can’t escape from the general repetition of the genre. The majority of the songs are really powerful and the band is delivering a lot of energy. Songs like the opener “The Eye”, the homonymous “Broken” or “Reborn In Flames” are great examples of the music style of the band.

There can be a great debate as to what an album can be considered good. Factors that can be taken into consideration are production, musicianship, performance. MASTERSTROKE have a great production, they are professional musicians and this is clearly obvious in the songs but personally I couldn’t find anything to cling on musically. The compositions are great etc., but I did not find anything that will keep me interested and check any song again. In other words I found a repetition of popular ideas served in a very nice and professional way, but still served again. Especially with so many great releases lately that leaves me without any real excitement about this album.  So in that sense either you somehow fell in love with this album or just pass by. 

3 Star Rating

1. The Eye
2. I Condemn You
3. Seed Of Chaos
4. Broken
5. As We Crawl
6. Reborn In Flames
7. My Last Day
8. Before The End
Niko Rauhala - Vocals & Guitar
Markus Kekoni - Guitar
Marko Kolehmainen - Bass
Jussi Kulomaa - Keyboards
Janne Juutinen - Drums
Record Label: Dynamic Arts Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green