Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

MetalDaveCampbell, 37 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

MaYan - Antagonise Award winner

by Marcos "Big Daddy" Garcia at 22 January 2014, 2:53 PM

And from Holland, comes again the septet MAYAN, with their second coming, “Antagonise”.

The same Symphonic Death Metal we hear on their first work, “Quarterpast: Symphonic Death Metal Opera” is present again, with improvements of arrangements, and the adding of a soprano vocalist (Laura Macrì) and a clean male vocal (Henning Basse), as one of the guitarist left. But the essence of their music is the very same: a fusion of Melodic Death Metal aspects with Power Metal orchestrations, but in a perfect form, now more coherent and solid.

Now having Joost Van Den Broek in the production (who worked with AFTER FOREVER, DELPHIAN, and others), the sound itself gained a lot of weight in terms of their debut, but the sound is pretty heavy and aggressive on this album, even sounding clean. And it’s a good album, having as special guests Floor Jansen (in some vocals), Marcela Bovio in vocals and choirs, and Dimitris Katsoulis on the violin.

The album as a whole is good, and will bring them to a new level, having the better songs in “Bloodline Forfeit” (a perfect marriage between aggressiveness and orchestrations), the more harsh “Redemption - The Democracy Illusion” (wow, these guitar riffs and keyboards are wonderful), the well-worked “Paladins of Deceit – National Security Extremism part 1” (this drummer is a monster. His technique along with capacity for guiding the rhythm along with bass guitar is incredible), “Devil in Disguise” (if wouldn’t for some harsh voices and some arrangements, would be a Power Metal song, indeed), the extreme “Human Sacrifice” (now, if weren’t by some more melodic, soft and well-worked moments, would be a Death Metal song), the wonderful “Capital Punishment”, and “Faceless Spies – National Security Extremism part 2”.

Great album, no doubt about that.

5 Star Rating

1. Bloodline Forfeit
2. Burn Your Witches
3. Redemption - The Democracy Illusion
4. Paladins of Deceit – National Security Extremism part 1
5. Lone Wolf
6. Devil in Disguise
7. Insano
8. Human Sacrifice
9. Enemies of Freedom
10. Capital Punishment
11. Faceless Spies – National Security Extremism part 2
Mark Jansen – Grunts, Screams, Orchestration
Frank Schiphorst – Guitars Vocals
Laura Macrì – Soprano
Henning Basse – Clean
Rob van der Loo – Bass
Jack Driessen – Keyboards, Orchestration, Screams
Ariën van Weesenbeek – Drums, Grunts
Record Label: Nuclear Blast Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green