Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

43 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Meltdown Yellow - Secret

Meltdown Yellow
by Dave Nowels at 17 February 2020, 5:41 AM

MELTDOWN YELLOW describe their sound as “hard-hitting, high octane rock from Raleigh, NC”. They further say that the “horsepower of this outfit is derived from a simple time-tested combination: plug it in, turn it up, rock it out”. The band formed in 2007 with friends Leary and Harper deciding to quit procrastinating and set out to chase their dreams. Since then, the band have been rehearsing, gigging, writing and recording. After a few lineup changes, MELTDOWN YELLOW say they've found their most cohesive lineup yet, and have dropped their third release, “Secret” independently.

Musically, the approach is fairly simple and well executed. Catchy hooks, crunchy guitar and chest thumping low end. The band shows a lot of rock radio influence, and that's certainly their niche. Think along the lines of STONE TEMPLE PILOTS, VELVET REVOLVER etc. The album kicks off with “In A Funk” followed by “Wash Away”. There's definitely a solid structure and a good foundation to the songs musically, likely a result of the trial by fire of constant live gigging. Vocalist Paul Leary has a good midrange presentation, though I found it to be missing a real “bite”.

“Secret” is a consistent release that shows significant promise. Songs like “Take”, “Be My Secret” and “Echo” really leapt out to me as the strongest tracks. My biggest concerns stem from a bland production, that really does nothing to “propel” the band's sound. Additionally, lyrically the songs are far too repetitive for my taste. Still, as I said it's a band that seems to have a future ahead if they can take it to the next level. While overall a good release, “Secret” still has the feel of a regional release.

Songwriting: 5
Musicianship: 7
Memorability: 5
Production: 6

3 Star Rating

1. In A Funk
2. Wash Away
3. Do What You Want
4. Be My Secret
5. Unappealing
6. Take
7. Echo
8. The Rest Of Me
Paul Leary – Vocals
Chad Lister – Guitar
Jeremy Harper – Bass
Bill Eagen – Drums
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 07 December 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green