Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

35 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Mendes Prey - The Never Ending Road Award winner

Mendes Prey
The Never Ending Road
by Matt Coe at 16 June 2015, 9:45 PM

Originating in 1981 from Pontefract, Yorkshire in the United Kingdom, MENDES PREY is one of many acts who may not have received their just due the first time around in the New Wave of British Heavy Metal scene. From 1982-1986 they released two singles and made two compilation appearances, but never had the opportunity to record a full-length album. Greek label No Remorse felt the time is ripe to gather up all of their recordings and issue “The Never Ending Road” – a 16 track compilation of their songwriting history.

The bell chimes and windy soundtrack signals the opening strains of “Red Alert”, the guitar parts giving way to the mysterious, goose bump melodies from vocalist John Seymour – a track that has a lot of ANGEL WITCH meets TRESPASS feel to it. Mark Sutcliffe as a guitarist has a lot of boogie and galloping tricks up his Hard Rock and Metal licks – I can tell everything from DEEP PURPLE and THIN LIZZY to THE SCORPIONS factors into a lot of his versatile abilities on stunners such as “Running For You” and “Take Me Cross the River”. Keyboards factor into “Listen” in almost a synth-pop manner, and it seems like the drumming has that computerized 80’s feel as well – and I don’t know if necessarily most NWOBHM fans will appreciate this lighter, commercial song.

Closing with two live tracks (of which “Flight to Moscow” has a lot of UFO texture to it and works best despite the rawer nature of the recording), I consider “The Never Ending Road” essential to all followers of British metal from the 1980’s – as there was plenty of quality to be had in the scene, and this band deserve a wider, deeper look for the quality is present. NIGHT DEMON bassist/vocalist Jarvis Leatherby gave me a heads up on this fine group – and I’m glad that No Remorse took the time to assemble their material in such a professional manner. 16 tracks and 72 minutes of Melodic Heavy Metal and Hard Rock done with British class and style.

4 Star Rating

1. Red Alert
2. Running For You
3. What the Hell’s Going On
4. On To the Borderline
5. Cry For the World
6. Lone Survivor
7. Take Me Cross the River
8. Drifting
9. Don’t Shine
10. Losing Man
11. I Beg For Mercy
12. Can You Believe It
13. Listen
14. Breaking My Heart
15. Drifting (live)
16. Flight to Moscow (live)
John Seymour - Vocals
Mark Sutcliffe - Guitars
Tony Boulton - Bass
Martin Brough - Drums
Record Label: No Remorse Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green