Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

metalwim, 40 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Mental Coma – Ending An Era

Mental Coma
Ending An Era
by Thomas Kumke at 26 July 2020, 9:49 PM

MENTAL COMA are a Thrash/Death Metal band from Copenhagen, Denmark. They were founded in 2012 and released three EPs and one full-length album. The band plays a combination of Thrash and Death Metal including technical elements with Trash Metal being the dominating force of their sound. The EP is an independent release (unlike their full-length album) and was mixed and mastered by Anton Pedersen. “Ending An Era” is the first release featuring vocalist Nick Kanstrup. It has a length of approximately 20 minutes

The EP starts off with “The New Gods”, a fast song with crisp, melodic, and technical comprehensive guitar parts. The song has a break mid-way through the song where guitars become crunchier and heavier. The title song continues in the same way. The guitar riffs are catchy and heavy throughout in “Ending An Era”. In both songs, the guitars are really dominant with Anton Pedersen Lucas and Dahldorph Nissen bossing the show.

Void Of Despair” sounds different than all other songs on “Ending An Era”. The one minute introduction reminds me on some typical IRON MAIDEN sequences from the eighties. “Void Of Despair” is kept slower at least initially, but comes to life after three minutes in terms of speed and heaviness.

Silence Will Follow” is again very much dominated by the two guitar players and contains some nice and melodic guitar parts all accompanied by a very fast rhythm. Characteristic for all songs on “Ending An Era” is that they contain at least one break where the song slows down to mid-tempo. That is either at the end of the song as in “Silence Will Follow” or at the beginning as in “Architect Of Self-Destruction”. The latter one is a good way to go out with a bang. “Silence Will Follow” is available on YouTube with the link given below.

Ending An Era” is a solid Thrash Metal EP. The sound of MENTAL COMA is somewhat different compared to older releases. Their sound is adjusted towards their new vocalist Nick Kanstrup. Compared to their previous releases, especially to “Fragments Of Democracy”, “Ending An Era” lacks aggressiveness and a “kick-in-your-face” attitude. All material on “Ending An Era” are fast Thrash Metal songs with perhaps a few too many technical guitar elements and too little rawness. It is a solid produced EP and it will be interesting to see in which direction MENTAL COMA go with their future releases.

Songwriting:  7
Musicianship:  7
Memorability:  6
Production:  7

3 Star Rating

1. The New Gods
2. Ending An Era
3. Void Of Despair
4. Silence Will Follow
5. Architect Of Self-Destruction
Nick Kanstrup – Vocals
Anton Pedersen – Guitars
Lucas Dahldorph Nissen - ­ Guitars
Lasse Sylvester Kristensen – Drums
Mark Klavsen – Bass
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green