Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

28 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Michael Monroe - Blackout States Award winner

Michael Monroe
Blackout States
by Lotty Whittingham at 29 October 2015, 3:34 PM

Here’s a man who doesn’t need an introduction in the Hard Rock community; as most Hard Rock fans know Michael Monroe’s musical career started in the eighties initially with the band HANOI ROCKS with his bassist Sami Yaffa. This was followed by cult band MAD JUANA in Spain during the nineties; this was followed by NEW YORK DOLLS and now MICHAEL MONROE’s own solo band. They have brought forward their brand new album “Blackout States” that consists of thirteen brand new tracks which will no doubt bring in new fans and make sure loyal followers are rooted to the spot.

The album gets off to an incredible and promising start with the song “This Ain’t No Love Song”, which gives it the happy go lucky uplift the listener may need after a stressful day. From that point on the feel good vibes only continue and are reinforced by other songs such as “Goin’ Down With The Ship”, “Six Feet In The Ground” and “Permanent Youth”. The sounds of THE ROLLING STONES come to mind when listening to the sweet sounds from the album “Blackout States”; songs that will have you dancing wherever you happen to be walking, sitting or working. “Under The Northern Lights” can quite easily be the Scandinavian Hard Rock anthem of the decade.

That’s what a truly great album can do to you; it can take you away to an alternate reality and help you escape the stresses of day to day life. Where “Blackout States” is concerned the statement highly applies, when listening to the album you can’t help but have the biggest smile across your face as this album takes you back to the warm hazes of summertime.

Overall conclusion? A great album that is full of strong Hard Rock melodies that will lift the moods of the downhearted.

4 Star Rating

1. This Ain’t No Love Song
2. Old King’s Road
3. Goin’ Down With The Ship
4. Keep Your Eye On Your
5. Good Old Bad Days
6. RLF
7. Blackout States
8. Under The Northern Lights
9. Permanent Youth
10. Dead Hearts On Denmark Street
11. Six Feet In The Ground
12. Walk Away
13. Break The Noise (vinyl bonus track)
Michael Monroe – Lead Vocals
Sami Yaffa – Bass
Steve Conte – Guitars
Rich Jones – Guitars
Karl Rockfist – Drums 
Record Label: Spinefarm Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green