Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

36 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Midnight Priest - Aggressive Hauntings

Midnight Priest
Aggressive Hauntings
by Craig Rider at 07 July 2019, 10:38 AM

Metal maniacs, rejoice! I am proud to present to you: MIDNIGHT PRIEST; signed via Metal On Metal Records, hailing from Portuguese grounds - performing Heavy Metal, on their 3rd album entitled: "Aggressive Hauntings" (released May 10th, 2019).

Since formation in 2008; the band in question have 3 albums in their discography so far, I am introduced to their 3rd album entitled: "Aggressive Hauntings". 10 tracks ranging at around 35:41; MIDNIGHT PRIEST arranges an intricately designed formula of hard-hitting developments. "The Law" begins the record; showcasing symphonic terror that is an orchestral hymn, based upon a ritualistic style until the wildly rushing "Funeral" conveys amplified adrenaline & boistrously concrete gnarliness. Fuelled with flamboyant fabrications; excelled into a barraged frenzy of adroitly composed aesthetics, energetic jumpiness & killer lacerations of rip-roaring shreds that supply quintessentially relentless ultilizations of rapidly swift nimbleness – transistioned with soaring vehemence & versatile seamlessness.

Consisting of Lex Thunder on vocals; the frontman demonstrates lungs of high-pitched persistency, portraying screams of vengefully strong virtue & sonically solid substance of organic manifestation. The titular track provides complexly dextrous fluidity; as duo guitarists Iron Fist & Steel Bringer distribute a fierce amount firepower & expertise, contrasted with captivating attributes in which pursuit a blistering flair of riveting riffs and speedy solos that thunder with rambunctious ramifications. Songs like "Eyes In The Dark" & "Holy Flesh" examine catchy distinctions like meticulous songwriting memorability; profusely robust thumpiness, stomping with wonderously prodegious weight & meaty velocity - stampeding like a fierce bulldozer frolicking hastily into a creative blend of crunchy dynamics.

Audible bassist Speedfaias Axecrazy exercises a diligently harmonious effect of frantically full-throttle rhythms that inject infectious grooves; pounding with virtuosic slabs of pummelling perseverence, quaking with tenaciously progressive technicalities & polished skill. "Ecstasy" embodies an inventive implementation of constructively distinguished elements like transistioning snappy quirks with unapologetic uniqueness; volatile hostility, and an angelic sound production of elegantly exquisite deadliness. "Sin For Satan" slays with more thrashing slams as powerhouse drummer Alex "War Tank" hammers his steel with smashing rebellion; revolved stability, and a collective talent of potentially primitive subtly to it - immersed into a borderline foundation of gritty yet punchy silver lining mechanics.

"Iron Heart" excels with remorseless subjugation; prompt with razor-sharp tempos, momentous soundscapes that amalgamates electrifying intensities & detailed finesse - a belter of a track that oozes professionalism. "On Your Knees For Metal" serves remarkable vibrancy; sparked with splendid results, and an anthemic formulaic for good measure - merging traditional sub-genre varieties with unprecedented overarch's of rocking remedies. Overall concluding "Aggressive Hauntings" with the epic finale: "Black Leather" assisted with oppressive yet mellifluous savagery, and euphonious dosages of efficiently crisp chugs - converged into galloping mayhem… I am compelled to say that MIDNIGHT PRIEST certainly outdone themselves with this one; it is definitely an entertaining discovery, and most metal maniacs will relish this one - good stuff.

Songwriting: 8
Memorability: 8
Originality: 8
Sound Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. The Law
2. Funeral
3. Aggressive Hauntings
4. Eyes in the Dark
5. Holy Flesh
6. Ecstasy
7. Sin for Satan
8. Iron Heart
9. On Your Knees for Metal
10. Black Leather
Lex Thunder - Vocals
Iron Fist - Guitars
Steel Bringer - Guitars
Speedfaias Axecrazy - Bass
Alex "War Tank" - Drums
Record Label: Metal On Metal Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green