Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

41 guests

Welcome to our newest member, patrickbarnes

Mirrormaze - Walkabout

by YngwieViking at 04 June 2012, 3:47 PM

When it comes to Progressive Metal, Italy seems to be the most active country since the early 90s, a scene quite rich with virtually. There is a band for each & every nuanced sub-category in this particular and very precise genre. Today it's very challenging to create a collection of songs in this style with a focus on the differentiating options. Progressive Metal is affluent enough to experiment a little and the borders are sufficiency wide to find a tiny niche to expand some new elements. But the surprise factor is extremely tedious to create in 2012.

Those clever outlines are very demanding and the rhetoric subject were already explored many times, so I think you would have understood that “Walkabout” isn’t “the” new groundbreaking record or “the” new way for a new Progressive trend, but a jubilant collection of track in the same vein as: DREAM THEATER / HOUSE OF SPIRIT or SANVOISEN and obviously FATES WARNING.

Speaking of FATES WARNING, their lead singer Mr. Ray Alder (also REDEMPTION / ENGINE) is guest star in one of the best track of the whole disc: “Deeper Signs” in the true “No Exit” fashion. Another great song is ''Earn Your Answers" which is even closer to the spirit of “Parallels” or “Perfect Symmetry”. Some darkest influences are also displayed but in a lesser extent: Originality lies not there either.

At least with MIRRORMAZE, if we don’t get the surprise effects, we have the satisfaction and the fulfilment of the perfectly-done work with a good production and some very talented players but above all a charismatic vocalist. The melodic features, the mannerism and the smart devoted characteristics of this band are in norm of the worldwide first-league and their technical ratings are pretty good. 

3 Star Rating

1. Prisoner
2. Earn Your Answers
3. Vicious Circle
4. Lost in a Belief
5. Joke
6. Deeper Signs
7. Walkabout
8. Missing
9. Broken Soul
Fabio D'Amore  - Lead Vocals
Juan Manuel Savoini - Bass
Fabio Nasuelli - Drums
Davide Penna - Lead Guitars
Samuele Lanfranchini - Keyboards
Record Label: Bakerteam Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green