Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

26 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Misha Calvin - Evolution II (CD)

Misha Calvin
Evolution II
by Grigoris Chronis at 02 October 2004, 10:50 PM

The second part of the Majestic Rock CD reissues featuring Misha Calvin's discography is also the second part of the Evolution saga (sic). Recorded in two different studios at 1995, Evolution II unfortunately follows the traditions of the movies' sequels in cinema. Part One is nearly always better than Part Two. And there's a very good reason for this.
It seems that Misha altered his prospect during the sessions for his debut's successor. Produced by the guitarist himself, Evolution II falls a little bit short of Misha's expectations after the remarkable sensation Evolution had upon its release. Tony Martin is absent this time, leaving Ian Parry - once again, a magnificent performance - and Dave Twose handling the vocal lines. It's weird that hearing the opening track Die For Love I was almost convinced that the whole CD would be that flat. Hey, we're not talkin' about something mid-leveled here… Misha's playing is somehow more enigmatic now yet distinctive, thus leaving minimal space to keyboards for extra-atmosphere appendix. As a result, most compositions seem to be based on this straight-forward chord difussion generating a somehow heavier but a little bit of a plain album, especially upshoting the rhythm section's works (Pete Barnacle - ex-Girl - really has a good time).
Two bonus tracks from the album's recordings archive tapes are added to this release, slightly driving away from the melodic-keyboards-and-shred-guitars rock, locating more to guitar based (late Impelliterri, Steve Vai) songs and less to all-team melodies. Nothing bad with that, still I recall Part One.

3 Star Rating

Die For Love
Some People
Kingdom Of Man
Jamios Del Aqua
Is It A Warning
Show A Little Mercy
Adieu Ma Belle
Fall Guy
Misha's Rag
Evil In The Night (bonus)
Under The Hammer (bonus)
Misha Calvin - Guitars
Steve Dunning - Bass
Martin Lister - Keyboards
Pete Barnacle - Drums
Dave Twose - Lead vocals
Ian Parry - Lead vocals
Record Label: Majestic Rock Creations


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green