Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

66 guests

Welcome to our newest member, patrickbarnes

Missing Tide - Follow The Dreamer (CD)

Missing Tide
Follow The Dreamer
by Maria Kallinikou at 22 December 2009, 10:44 AM

Here comes another project - from Denmark this time - although the band itself does not want to see it that way, as they are planning to release more albums in the future. Henrik Brockmann and Jacob Kjaer who were touring with ROYAL HUNT, back in the 90s, Kasper Gram (MANTICORA) and Allan Tschicaja (PRETTY MAIDS) combine their forces and the debut album of MISSING TIDE is a fact.

First of all I want to underline that there is no doubt that these people are talented musicians, by hearing parts on the eleven songs that consist this album one gets persuaded. Unavoidably, when lots of influences are present, regarding the background of each member, then extra attention has to be paid in order to come up with a good mix. In the ten songs you will find good riffs that vary from classic Heavy Metal to Thrash (oh, yes!), catchy melodies, nice ballads, but you will ear-witness that sometimes there are too many ideas in a song, making it somehow chaotic. For example in Traces Of Fire, at the beginning the guitars have a Thrash-y tendency which gives its place to an epic chorus that, to my ears, does not fit at all.

Although the voice of Henrik Brockmann in Away has a great flow, in the first songs he does not impress me, actually it is not matching. In Never Surrender he tries in vain to express the roughness of the lyrics. The production is adequate but what I cannot understand is the combination of the cover with that album and the music it contains. Try it, honestly in song writing aspect you will find amazing parts. But just that.

2 Star Rating

Follow The Dreamer
Never Surrender
Traces Of Fire
Victim Of A Crime
Broken Wings
Push It To The Limit
Take Me High
Long Live The Heroes
Henrik Brockmann - Vocals
Jacob Kjaer - Guitars
Kasper Gram - Bass
Allan Tschicaja - Drums
Record Label: Lion Music


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green