Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

44 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Mnemic - Mnemesis

by Karila "Femme Metale" Shannis at 17 July 2012, 12:33 AM

Mnemesis is the fifth release of industrial/prog metal band Mnemic.  In my humble opinion, it should also be their proudest.  While I do admire their spirit of creative experimentation that surrounded their most previous release Sons of the System,  Mnemesis successfully utilizes a myriad of techniques to create a very dimensional record.

From the moving melodies of “There’s No Tomorrow” to the hot and heavy tracks “Transcend” and “Junkies on the Storm,” the fluidity produced from track to track keeps the album lively from start to finish.  Mnemesis’s most distinguished triumph Is the distinct versatility contributed by Guillaume Bideau’svocals.  “I’ve Been You” seems like a song that would become an infectious favorite of eager sing-along lovers, and as if “Junkies on the Storm” wasn’t heavy enough with Mircea’s digging guitar riffs, Guillaume Bideauweaves between dark growls and melodic vibratos.  Each of these will provide you with your own separate types of goosebumps.  However, sometimes I felt as if I was not left to be smashed by pure heavy brutality before being suddenly interrupted by soaring vocals.  It seems strange that I would dislike that, but a few of the more brutal sounding tracks suddenly turn into something slower and melodic, when I would have much rather just stuck with a fast, ruthless song for the duration of five minutes.

Then the fact that Tue Madsen (Behemoth, The Haunting, Dark Tranquility) had his hand in the production of this album put the cherry on top of a flavorful progressive/death/melodic sundae.  Diversity is the key to this album and is sometimes used in excess (sometimes I would just want a brutal song from start to finish rather than being cut off by a completely different melodic vocal style); however, the level of production quality and mastery of songwriting is not to go unrecognized.

3 Star Rating

  1. Transcend:
  2. Valves
  3. Junkies on the Storm
  4. I’ve Been You
  5. Pattern Platform
  6. Mnemesis
  7. There’s No Tomorrow
  8. Haven at the End of the World
  9. Ocean of Void
  10. Blue Desert in a Black Hole
  11. Empty Planet (bonus track)
Guillame Bideau - Vocals
Mircea Gabriel Efternie - Guitar, Keyboards
Victor-Ray Salomonsen Ronander - Guitar
Simone Bertozzi - Bass Guitar
Brian Larsen - Drums
Record Label: Nuclear Blast


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 29 November 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green