Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

26 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Moloken - Unveilance of Dark Matter

Unveilance of Dark Matter
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 01 December 2019, 12:02 PM

From their Facebook page, MOLOKEN represents “since the dawn of time music has been a part of human history and it’s the only language that has transcended every age. Of the few fortunate that channel one of humanities oldest forms of expression is the aging colossus MOLOKEN. Born in the bitter cold of Umeå in 2007 the band has walked their own path disregarding musical conventions and genres. To change, morph and evolve restlessly is in the very fabric of MOLOKEN and the titan above us is still on a journey into the unknown. Music is their religion and it unleashes feelings that are only understood by the heart of those who listen.” “The Unveilance of Dark Matter” is their latest offering and contains eleven tracks.

“This Love is a Curse” opens the album. It’s a two-minute mood setting instrumental. Sounding a bit like GOJIRA, with that repeated heavy riff, it sets a tone of somber and serious album. “Surcease” is a three-minute song, with everything dialed up a few notches. The vocals go from spine-tingling screams to low and guttural utterances, while the guitars and bass maintain a dissonant and constant drone. “Shadow Castle” is a bit slower but still with that droning sense of noise. It barely registers as music, but that is in the eye of the beholder. “No Ease No Rest” is a quick one-and-a-half-minute song with very little presence overall…I question why they even included it on the album.

“Hollow Caress” moves a little quicker but that dissonance remains the fitting feature of the album. Hopeless, mind-numbing cold, and utter darkness are some of what you get here. “Venom Love” has a slightly more linear sound but is still dominated by those dissonant guitars and those raging vocals. It has a slower passage where it crawls a little and breathes. “Repressed” is another under two-minute track that just creates a little atmosphere. “Lingering Demise” is the longest on the album, at over six minutes in length. Opening with heavy and aggressive guitars, it backs off a bit and eases into a clean guitar passage with light, almost jazzy drumming. But it doesn’t last too long, as the chaos quickly ensues.

“Unbearable” brings a similar sound with it…lonely, desolated, end-of-times kind of sound. When you think of the song title, you can understand how desperate things have become. “I Still Can’t Hear You” is the third short song with barely a sound passing. “Unveilance of Dark Matter” closes the album. It’s six more minutes of discord and dissonance done under a bed of terrifying vocals. I understand what the band was trying to accomplish on the album, but the repetitive nature of the album wears on me, and I question the shorter tracks that don’t really offer much to the album.

Songwriting: 4
Musicianship: 5
Memorability: 2
Production: 7

2 Star Rating

1. This Love is a Curse
2. Surcease
3. Shadow Castle
4. No Ease No Rest
5. Hollow Caress
6. Venom Love
7. Repressed
8. Lingering Demise
9. Unbearable
10. I Still can’t Hear you
11. Unveilance of Dark Matter
Jakob Burstedt – Drums
Kristoffer Bäckström – Guitar & Vocals
Nicklas Bäckström – Bass & Vocals
Patrik Ylmefors – Guitar & Vocals
Record Label: The Sign Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green