Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

31 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Montany - Biogenetic

by Iron Mathew at 24 December 2013, 3:33 PM

MONTANY are a melodic, Power Metal band from the Netherlands formed in 1989 releasing their debut album in 2002. After some line-up changes the band split but have now reformed and released their second album in 2013.

Opening the album in a flourish of keyboards that sound more like Dance / Techno is “Of Fire And Ice”, a solid Hard Rock song full of catchy rhythms and riffs. MONTANY are back and have mixed Power Metal and melodic Hard Rock to produce a sound not too dissimilar to some of the great European Power Metal bands of the late eighties and early nineties. Title song “Biogenetic” and “Falling To Pieces” are slower, with a foot tapping guitar chug and a vocal performance that reminds me of (ex-HELLOWEEN singer) Michael Kiske..

Upping the tempo is the seven minute epic “Without You”, full of atmospheric hard rock with keyboards to boot. This is an awesome journey through one of the best songs on the album. “Miles Away” is almost ballad-like in its delivery but for me remains too heavy to be an out and out ballad, whereas “Angels Smile” fits the bill, with its hand waving in the air feel.

Power metal returns with “Change Of Seasons”, a thunderous romp of big chunky riffs and a wide ranging style of vocals. This is catchy, this is foot stomping, this is power metal like it used to be. Best song on the album is (Michael Kiske-era) HELLOWEEN influenced “Moment Of Faith”. It has big chunky guitar riffs, powerful clean vocals and races at pace to its end. Closing the album is “Egypt”, a foot stomping doom rock song with some blistering guitar work.

Overall, Power Metal and melodic Metal combined to produce an album full of foot tapping hard rock that will please fans of late 80’s / early 90’s European Power Metal.

4 Star Rating

1. Of Fire And Ice
2. Biogenetic
3. Falling To Pieces
4. Without You
5. Miles Away
6. Angels Smile
7. Change Of Seasons
8. Moment Of Faith
9. Egypt
Patrick Van Maurik – Vocals
Dirk Hoek – Guitar
Stefan Brederode – Bass
Marcel Chaudron – Drums
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green