Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

24 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Mortal Device - Chapter One

Mortal Device
Chapter One
by Robert Amer at 05 June 2020, 11:02 PM

Chapter One” is the first of three EPs to be released by Phoenix metal act MORTAL DEVICE. Its members are involved with many bands from the area and have come together in this release to offer an appetite-whetting sampling of their labors.

The debut EP has four tracks showing the band’s expressive range within the bite-size and easily digestible portions they dish out. Each track presents traditional strong structures delivered in distinctive ways with every song having its own unique feeling. “In Your Shadow” begins with a heavy break down riff before a brisk verse takes its place. The chorus takes a more reserved tone in both the guitar and Shane Christensen’s vocal delivery as the soundscape opens up a bit in contrast to the preceding parts. This is echoed in the break preceding the guitar solo. Overall, the first track has impressionable moments and is complemented by screams layered onto some lines courtesy of guest vocalist Eric Seals. “Cult Of Greed” is a catchy social critique of consumer culture. The pre-chorus and bridge contain some call and response vocal lines that also appear later. The final pre-chorus mounts in intensity making a particularly satisfying the resolution of settling into the chorus. A lyric video has been posted for “All That I Have” which is an accessible song from the bunch. The bridge and the guitar solo are high-points; the vocal harmonies in the chorus are also attention-grabbing. The EP closes with “Until The End” which punctuates this first showing but does not really grab the listener.

MORTAL DEVICE puts forth a pretty good debut release in “Chapter One”. The songwriting’s variety shows promise going forward, although only the first two tracks seem to make a lasting impression on this EP.

Songwriting: 7
Musicianship: 7
Memorability: 6
Production: 7

3 Star Rating

1. In Your Shadow
2. Cult of Greed
3. All That I have
4. Tapinachi
5. Until the End
Shane Christensen - Vocals
Daniel Drago - Guitar
Casey Weaver - Guitar/Vocals
Dale Keyes - Bass
Andy Crowley - Drums
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 27 November 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green