Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

51 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Mortalicum - Tears From The Grave

Tears From The Grave
by Daniel Silva at 25 May 2014, 10:32 PM

MORTALICUM was formed in 2006 by Patrick Backlund the main force behind QUICKSAND DREAM, an obscure heavy metal band that started out in late '80s and released a single concept album entitled “Aelin - A Story About Destiny”. Initially MORTALICUM was more of a studio project but eventually it became a full-time band with the release of their debut album back in 2010, two years after that they released their sophomore album which was well received, currently it holds an 80% rating out of five reviews in the Metal Archives. Now in 2014 they release their third album entitled “Tears from the Grave”.

MORTALICUM plays Doom Metal with Hard Rock influences, and both of them appear throughout the record, some songs, like “The Endless Sacrifice”, feature heavily the Hard Rock side, while songs like “I Dream of Dying” and the 11 minutes title track feature their Doom side, with heavy BLACK SABBATH inspired slow-paced riffs.

What makes this record great are the instrumentals that are almost perfect, especially the guitars, I absolutely love their long solos. But the same cannot be said about the vocals, they are the main reason why “Tears from the Grave” didn’t receive a 10 rating, which by the quality of the musicianship and lyrics, they truly deserved. The vocalist has a whiny high voice that can get on your nerves after a while, he actually reminded me of a parody I once heard of Bob Dylan.

If you like Doom Metal with Hard Rock influences you should probably check this album out but beware, if the most important part for you in songs is the vocalist, like me, this will probably be a love or hate it type of record.

3 Star Rating

1. The Endless Sacrifice
2. I Dream of Dying
3. Tears from the Grave
4. The Illusion
5. I Am Sin
6. Remember the Fallen
7. Spirits of the Dead
8. The Passage
9. The Winding Stair
Patrick Backlund - Bass
Andreas Häggström - Drums
Henrik Högl - Vocals, Guitars
Record Label: Metal On Metal records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green