Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

MetalDaveCampbell, 26 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Moths – Space Force

Space Force
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 01 September 2022, 3:10 PM

From Bandcamp, “Fusing charming familiarity with captivating freshness, MOTHS demonstrates an exceptional ability and willingness to saturate shades of their musical fore bearers with plenty of wide-ranging and idiosyncratic personality.” The new album contains six songs.

“Space Cowboy’s Ballad” is the first. It’s an interesting sound, where the guitars sound like they are being played inside of a crystal ball or the like…the way that they echo. “Broken Slumber” is a heavier offering. At first, the melodies are dissonant, with vulgar vocal screams. The clean vocal section that follows is a bit more eccentric. The vocalist has a nice and smooth approach, but there is a bit of a disconnect (purposefully) with the music at times. “Awake” features a slower and more droning approach, as the sound drips slowly on your head for what seems like days. Harsh vocals follow, in deep grunts, as the horizons turn dark and stormy. The transitions in and out of different sounds are done without attention.

“Unbound” begins with a smooth groove from rhythm guitars and a slight psychedelic edge. The bass guitar thuds away over a bed of odd leads. The song has some PINK FLOYD stylings that are turned upside down and come out with a new color palate. The light flickers in the room, at times more luminous while during others, more dark. “There’s No Place Like Space” is a short, one-and-a-half-minutes of spacey, heavy guitars that uses major notes to stay in the light. “Space Force” closes the album. It’s more succinct, even with the odd background tones. Harsh vocals make another entrance, and it darkens the sound, painted with a black brush. But the happy sounds return. It’s almost as if

Within the realm of Progressive Music, the boundaries are infinite. This is one album that stretches the boundaries until they are about to break. Within each song, there are more than a few structures…some dark and angry, others light-hearted and jovial. It’s an odd, but strangely pleasing experience from start to finish. If you are looking for something that is out there, in the far reaches of space, grab “Space Force,” turn off your lights, and get immersed.

Songwriting: 7
Musicianship: 8
Memorability: 7
Production: 7

3 Star Rating

1. Space Cowboy's Ballad
2. Broken Slumber
3. Awake
4. Unbound
5. There's No Place Like Space
6. Space Force
Damaris Rodríguez – Vocals
Daniel Figueroa – Drums
Jonathan Miranda – Lead Guitar
Omar González – Rhythm Guitar
Weslie Negrón – Bass
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green