Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

60 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

N.O.W. - Bohemian Kingdom

Bohemian Kingdom
by CJ "Music God" Plain at 22 April 2013, 4:49 PM

Today's music scene is filled with AOR Rock style bands that sound alike. So much so, it's hard to tell them apart at times.

N.O.W. is one of those bands that do not seem to suffer from that problem. The band's new CD, "Bohemian Kingdom", is a classy, well written album that covers a good range of sounds and styles.

The album opens with the  rocking, "I'm Alive", a tune that has plenty of punch and reminds one of what you'd get if SURVIVOR ever recorded a FOREIGNER tune, or vice versa. It's a style that works well for them and singer Philip Bardowell is perfectly within his element, singing this song to its fullest.

"I Feel Divine" has a Lou Gramm era FOREIGNER written all over it and is instantly likable and catchy. "Strong Enough" is the first of the ballads on here and once again, Bardowell gives this tune the perfect tone. The rest of the band follow his cue and stay locked into the groove of the song. "Mary-Ann" has that great BOSTON sound with big keys and guitars duelling back and forth.

The title track is a beautiful number with some tasty acoustic guitar that mixes with the heaviness of the track and the amazing lyrics. Closing the album out is the almost 8 minute track, "No One Can Feel It's Over". It's a sweeping, epic tune with more amazing lyrics and a chorus that just gets in your head like an ear worm.

This is a band that sets themselves apart by doing the little things that count the most: Great production, killer harmonies and song writing. It’s a sound that is perfectly balanced.

Reward your ears with this one.

4 Star Rating

1. I'm Alive
2. I Feel Divine
3. Don't Go Now
4. Strong Enough
5. Mary-Ann
6. Tonight Is The Night
7. Bohemian Kingdom
8. Leon's Going Soft
9. Cassie's Dream
10. No One Can Feel It's Over
Philip Bardowell – Vocals
Alec Mendonça - Bass & Vocals
Jean Barros – Keyboards, Piano & Vocals
Juno Moraes – Lead & Rhythm Guitars, Acoustic Guitars & Mandolin
Diogo Macedo – Drums
Record Label: Escape Music


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 28 March 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green