Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

58 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Necronomicon - Invictus (Reissue)

Invictus (Reissue)
by John Foley at 04 August 2020, 4:01 AM

NECRONOMICON are thrash metal legends from Germany who have been tearing it up since 1984 and this album is the re-release of their modern classic Invictus, which was unleashed in May 2020. Although the only original member here is Freddy, the new line up sounds hungrier and raring to show you what they can do.

The album opens with the title track “Invictus”. The intro is spoken word which then leads into real 80’s thrash metal riffing, sort of reminds me of the intro section to “Number of the Beast” by IRON MAIDEN. Some very SLAYER like sections in there too with a really cool twin guitar plus bass riff that really adds to the sound. The mid section really shows the skills of the bass playing and is then followed by an awesome guitar solo. Really great way to open the album.

With its evil sounding opening riffing “Bloody Bastards” makes for a great song. The drums sound powerful, the riffs make you want to put your fist in the air and the guitar solo just lifts the song up. After that there is “Thoughts Running Free” which from the start has a slower pace and some great lead guitar work. It then bursts into a real bang your head riff and then then some back and forth guitar sections.

The intro to “Upon Black Wings” gives you a sense that something evil is coming. The band then bursts in with an old school thrash metal approach and a lead guitar that really shines. This is a really great song. “Before the Curtain Falls” opens with some beautiful acoustics which shows a band like these guys aren’t afraid to take risks. This song really stands out as the heavy riffing stomps its way in. This song almost reminds me of “A Tout Le Monde” by MEGADEATH.

The album closes with “Possessed by Evil” and with this one NECRONOMICON are going out fighting. The song is packed with killer riffing, a mid section which quiets down a bit only to jump back up again with a fierce guitar solo and thunderous drumming. With this song they are leaving their mark on the metal world. And as an added bonus for this re-release edition there is a bonus track at the end of an acoustic version of Possessed again” which is worth checking out.

A lot of sections on this sound a little SLAYER like mixed with a bit of that NWOBHM sound from the 80’s. Some real killer riffing throughout which really make you wanna raise your fist in the air and bang your head to. Some really awesome drumming here as well. The guitar solos are very cool and at parts the bass is very melodic. For thrash metal fans Invictus is a must have.

Song Writing: 7
Musicianship: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. Invictus
2. Unleased
3. Bloody Bastards
4. Thoughts Running Free
5. Unconquered
6. Upon Black Wings
7. Face to the Wall
8. Pandoras Box
9. Before the Curtain Falls
10. Possessed by Evil
11. Possessed Again (unplugged)
Freddy: Vocals, Guitar
Mike: Guitar, Backing Vocals
Chris: Drums
Marco: Bass, Backing vocals
Record Label: Metal Scrap Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green