Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

37 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Nekrogoblikon – The Fundamental Slimes and Humours Award winner

The Fundamental Slimes and Humours
by Will Travers at 29 April 2022, 10:22 PM

A new NEKROGOBLIKON album being dropped on 1st April this year? No, it isn’t a horrifically late April fools’ joke, it really happened! Four years on from their successful release “Welcome To Bonkers”, with the gap in filled with a couple singles along the way, those Californian rockers have released their fifth studio album “The Fundamental Slimes And Humours”. The eleven track record has been on repeat in my car for the last week, and I have been thoroughly looking forward to getting this written! The artwork appears to be styled from some notes taken from an anatomy book or doctors notes, really impressive and good fun!

Opening the record is “Right Now”. Holy hell, what a way to bring the album t life. Te energy and atmosphere created by the track is absolutely superb. The anthem line of ‘this is life and we’re living it right now’ resonated with me, as I’m sure it will many others trying to catch up after the last couple of years. To be honest, lyrically it is just a truly beautiful track, and the music compliments it in every facet, rolling melodies, rich harmonies and a driving rhythm. Superb. The album continues to roll through as “Golden Future” and “Yin” drive forwards, the energetic and electric musical stylings of NEKROGOBLIKON permeating through my speakers, as Nicky’s vocals tear through to top it off.

“Supernovas (Exploding In Space)” is just fucking epic! Ok, it may have a slightly innocuous beginning, but it comes to life almost unexpectedly. The synths working overtime with the vocal line to create this really bouncy and fun atmosphere. But that’s also not to say that it isn’t chock full of hard hitting and ruthless tracking; through the riffs and the relentless drum beatings all comes together to create this near aggressive cosmic experience, which given the title is suitable! It is just so well done and put together, I’m almost at a loss for words.

Jumping ahead a bit for the last few I’ll be actually commenting on, and we come to “A Lesson In Hate” and what a fun track! The bouncy Polkaesque style of the track gives me GOGOL BORDELLO vibes whilst also keeping that distinct NEKROGOBLIKON musical stylings. It rolls through at a relentless pace, in keeping with the rest of the record. But as far as a ‘lesson in hate’ I would have to disagree; I definitely love this track.

Now, when I read the track listing and saw “Fancy Wind”, I will be the first to admit that I hoped this was a continuation of “The Magic Spider” seeing as though he is ‘flying on the wind’. Well, you can listen to it and hear it like that, but it definitely makes the story take a turn for the worse as the lyrical content is a bit darker and seems to be a POV of an individual’s internal monologue for someone they quite seriously dislike… And that is putting it politely! Musically it is darker too, but still, it hits all the right notes and leaves me feel energised. Finally, closing the album is “No Such Thing As A Key” (I beg to differ, as my bolt cutters can open any padlock, I need them too) but if you wanted a strong ending track, then you will find one here. With that strong driving force, epic chord progressions accented by synths, keys and the vocal line it really is a collection of everything that has been superb about this record as a final flurry before the record obviously loops round again on repeat.

Overall, if you couldn’t tell, I loved this album. It’s full of fun yet serious and technical tracks that really showcase NEKROGOBLIKON’s skills as musicians. Four years we have waited for this, and it has been well worth it as I feel that this is their strongest album to date, and I can’t wait until I can catch them Bloodstock Open Air later this year. It’s been a long time coming.

Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Memorability: 10
Production: 10

5 Star Rating

1. Right Now
2. Golden Future
3. Yin
4. Supernovas (Exploding In Space)
5. Bones
6. Going To Die
7. A Lesson In Hate
8. This Is It
9. Fancy Wind
10. Carousels
11. No Such Thing As A Key
Nicky Calonne – Vocals / Keyboard / Sampling
Joe Nelson – Guitar
Alex Alereza – Guitar
Aaron VanZutphen – Bass
Aaron Minich – Keyboard
Eric Brown – Drums
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green