Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

33 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Neurotic Machinery – A Loathsome Aberration

Neurotic Machinery
A Loathsome Aberration
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 07 December 2022, 2:58 PM

Progressive/Post-Metal band NEUROTIC MACHINERY are releasing their sixth studio album. Hailing from Czechia, “they present us a fully conceptual album, the theme being inner darkness, which fully corresponds with the instrumental part. Overall, “A Loathsome Aberration” is so far the darkest and heaviest material NEUROTIC MACHINERY have created.” The album has eight songs.

“Aberration” is the first. The opening tones are very heavy, with rolling drums, and dissonant riffs. The vocal vary from low gutturals to higher screams. Many of the Progressive elements can be found in the sharp stopping and starting in terms of the meter. “Insanity” has heavy accents and machine-gun drumming to go along with the nasty, filthy riffs. There are also some light supporting elements in the background, and they help the song to come alive more. “Particles” is another punishing offering with horrid vocals and some variation in the riffing. Again, these changes help the album to feel more dynamic.

“Self Suppressed” is longer, which gives the band time to develop the sound more carefully. Tense clean tones open the song, like a monster trying to tip-toe through your bedroom at night. The female cleans and unexpected and very nicely done. “Delusion” is back to the punishing and brutal tones one more, but it’s not without some melody. The melody helps to smooth out the staccato elements. “Blame” features another dreadful sound more in line with the themes of darkness that band talked about in their bio. “Insomnia” has harmonized harsh vocals again with some supporting background elements.

“Transcendental” closes the album, with another dark and mighty sound. There is some melody in the chorus, though it is whitewashed by desperate and angry tones. Sax notes come out in a brief clean passage before the final push.  There is a lot to like in the album, which I believe is essentially a one-man band. Eight songs were just enough to get the point across. The best feature of the album in my opinion are the dark tones. They are as dark as a black hole, and there is enough variation to keep the sound intriguing, and exciting. Overall, this was a brutal sound with carefully crafted augmentation.

Songwriting: 8
Musicianship: 8
Memorability: 8
Production: 8

4 Star Rating

1. Aberration
2. Insanity
3. Particles
4. Self Suppressed
5. Delusion
6. Blame
7. Insomnia
8. Transcendental
Michal Sedivy – Songwriting
Jan Pilík – Lyrics
Record Label: Bizarre Leprous Production


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green