Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

33 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Nicumo - The End Of Silence

The End Of Silence
by Katarzyna Zakolska at 08 April 2013, 4:14 PM

NICUMO is a melodic Rock / Metal band from Ylivieska, Finland that was founded back in 2007. It self released two EPs: ”Close Our Eyes For Good” and ”Scars & Glassy Eyes”.  NICUMO released their debut "The End of Silence" through Inverse Records.

“Follow Me” is totally great track for an opener with heavier riffs and clear, massive type drumming. The bass and vocals, channelling a fine aura, METALLICA meets HIM, where two worlds of aggressiveness and beauty mingling. The song “Kills Me” with nice catchy chorus, performed with extra melodic edge, the heavy riffing and vocals in the lyrical verse reminded me of DEFTONES, then the chorus sent me to LORDI. “My Bullet”, is a powerful track, memorable chorus added by melancholy and deepened vocals. “Exorcist” is a diverse melodic, low tuned guitars producing killer riffs in the vein of IN FLAMES and CHILDREN OF BODOM. I enjoyed the change of sceneries within the song. “My Own Silence”, is the sort of the different black sheep, highly atmospheric track following a saturated Doomish association that might hint of. SATURNUS. “Difference” is back to the energetic flavour, it will catch your attention remaining there for a long time. “Devil” is added by impressive guitar riffing as the band patched Progressive Metal, on its several elements, little of the Folk elements and low tuned guitars, singer even growls. “All Gone” is very modern, mixing calm and again kick-ass powerful riffs and a crazed rhythm section, a gentle type voice of DEFTONES and some moments reminding of SYSTEM OF A DOWN.

Hannu Karppinen has strong & melodic voice, pretty diverse. His voice remind me many vocalist from bands: LORDI, HIM, PANTERA, DEFTONES, METALLICA, SYSTEM OF A DOWN. I enjoyed this album's sound, very clear and well engineered. NICUMO seemed to competent at mixing agression with charming elegance and their multiple genre deliverances abide by that. Highly recommened.

4 Star Rating

1. Follow Me
2. All Gone
3. Devil
4. Exorcist
5. Firestorm
6. My Bullet
7. Difference
8. Kills Me
9. My Own Silence
10. Lines Drawn By Tears
Hannu Karppinen - Vocals
Atte Jääskelä - Guitars
Tapio Anttiroiko - Guitars
Sami Kotila - Bass
Aki Pusa - Drums
Record Label: Inverse Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green