Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

MetalDaveCampbell, 46 guests

Welcome to our newest member, patrickbarnes

Nonpoint - X

by "Metal Mark" Garcia at 22 September 2018, 8:26 AM

Since the coming of what we can label as modern Metal genres, the puritans preferred to stay in the past, the younger ones and embraced these ways as if there wasn’t a tomorrow to live. As an old Metalhead with an open mind, I recognize the value of these genres, and prefer to hear and think by myself. It’s a surprise that I never heard about NONPOINT, an experienced band, and what I hear on “X”, their latest album, impressed me a lot. This is their tenth album, and it presents a modern Metal format, with Groove Metal energy, some influences from Rapcore and New Metal, but with charming choruses and excellent melodies. Of course it’s nothing that we didn’t heard before, but their musical experience turns the listening of “X” in a very good time. Yes, it’s really a very good album, indeed.

Clear and done with care is the sound quality that bounded together their melodic essence with the modern and bitter aggressive parts, but all was conceived to sound oppressive and clean in the due proportions, so be prepared for a whiplash of modern tunes on the musical instruments. The mix of charming melodies on the chorus and sharp guitar riffs on “Empty Batteries”, the musical accessible and chaotic “Chaos and Earthquakes” and on “Fix This” (both with excellent variations on the vocals’ tunes), the modern abrasive melodies of “Passive Aggressive”, and the Latin rhythmic percussions on “Dodge Your Destiny” can be said as their finest moments, besides the entire album is excellent. Well, I have to no more of their work, but to say, “X” is a fine way to know what NONPOINT is musically about.

Originality: 8
Songwriting: 8
Memorability: 8
Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. Empty Batteries
2. Chaos and Earthquakes
3. Fix This
4. Crashing
5. Passive Aggressive
6. Dodge Your Destiny
7. Wheel Against Will
8. Milestone
9. Feel the Way I Feel
10. Position One
Elias Soriano - Vocals
B. C. Kochmit - Lead Guitar, Backing Vocals
Rasheed Thomas - Rhythm Guitar, Backing Vocals
Adam Woloszyn - Bass
Robb Rivera - Drums
Record Label: Spinefarm Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green