Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

31 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Northlane - 5G

by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 15 May 2021, 9:02 AM

With no entry on the Metal Archives, and no information provided in their EPK, I don’t really know much about this band, other than the fact that they have over 300,000 followers on Facebook. “5G” is the band’s latest offering…an EP that contains five tracks.

“Bloodline” leads off the album. It begins with a heavy electronic pulse, and smooth, soft vocals. But it’s not long before the harsh vocals come in, with weighted guitars and hard drum strikes. The verses have an ethereal quality to them…they kind of remind me of NINE INCH NAILS. “4D” also opens with electronica, a slightly faster pace, and a thick bass line. Harsh vocals come at you with some harmonies. The electronica gets heavier and a bit weirder as the track continues. Some symphonic element come into play as well, as clean vocals take over from there. Marcus has a very versatile voice.

“Vultures” is a short three-minutes of eerie electronica. The track speeds up to impossibly fast levels, then the opening sound returns. The harsh vocals mix in with the eerie keys and then the song abruptly ends. “Ohm” is another song heavy with electronica, but also done with some nice melodies. It takes a couple minutes before it settles into a groove, with dreamy, clean vocals. The drums sound programmed to me, but that is neither here nor there. It ends with a spacey fadeout.

“Sleepless” closes the EP…a short three-minute track. Smooth, sexy vocals lead off the song, with emotive qualities. “I know you’re alive, but in my heart, I’ve said goodbye, so tonight I’m sleepless” he croons. Marcus really hits some high notes in this ballad of sorts. Some electronic elements come in towards the end, as the big fade-away comes in. Overall, this was a strong EP, with a combination of clean and harsh guitars, melody, and some really heavy electronica. The closing song might be the best on the album, showing the band’s tender side. I think any Metal fans who appreciate melody will find this to their liking.

Songwriting: 8
Musicianship: 8
Memorability: 8
Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. Bloodline
2. 4G
3. Vultures
4. Ohm
5. Sleepless
Marcus Bridge – Vocals
Jonathon Deiley – Guitars
Josh Smith – Guitars
Brendon Padjasek – Bass
Nic Pettersen – Drums
Record Label: UNFD Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green