Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

MetalDaveCampbell, 51 guests

Welcome to our newest member, patrickbarnes

Nothing More - Nothing More Award winner

Nothing More
Nothing More
by Anamaria Carla Ionita at 03 February 2015, 1:05 AM

I’ve had such bad luck with reviews lately; I stumbled upon really uninspired bands. With another one that I haven’t heard of, NOTHING MORE, I thought, ‘damn…not another one’; but to my surprise, I discovered something big (about time, right?).

NOTHING MORE is an American alternative metal band from San Antonio, Texas. Signed to Eleven Seven Music Group, the ensemble has released six studio albums to date, including their self-titled album “Nothing More”. The lead single off their self-titled major label debut, entitled "This Is The Time (Ballast)" hit number 1 on the Mediabase Active Rock chart and number 2 on the Billboard Mainstream Rock chart. It’s really hard to pinpoint the band’s sound, they fit well with the ‘hard rock’ scene, catchy choruses and rhythmic tempo on the other hand, you have djent-like guitar tones. If you’re a fan of System Of A Down and Dream Theatre, you will probably like them.

Their new, self-titled album “Nothing More” is a mix of different styles. The opening track “Ocean Floor” is an ambient intro followed by the masterpiece “This Is The Time (Ballast)”. Incredibly precise guitar riffs, killer bass and ‘hard hitting’ drums are the perfect background for Jonny Hawkins soaring vocals.  Continuing with “Christ Copyright” – a track essentially about selling religion with a tirade of brutal beats and powerful lyrics: “Don't form thoughts, trust politicians. Forfeit soul, pursue religion. Lose free will to gain protection. Sink the ship with good intention…”

Another energy bursting track is “First Punch”, I think it will the next big hit, with soaring vocals and a really catchy chorus, NOTHING MORE delivers a RATM message throughout the lyrics: “I’ll throw the first punch/Because I’ve kept my mouth shut/For far too long, Enough’s enough.” With “Gyre”, “If I Were”, “Here’s To The Heartache” and “I’ll Be Ok” we have a more softer approach, on a more solemn level.

From the beginning to the exact end, “Nothing More” is a powerful album for a fresh new band on the rise. With self-awareness, wisdom and a philosophical mindset that goes well beyond their years, Nothing More has channeled their early struggles into a musical and lyrical masterpiece. Nothing more… Nothing less.

4 Star Rating

1. Ocean Floor
2. This Is The Time (Ballast)
3. Christ Copyright
4. Mr. MTV
5. First Punch
6. Gyre
7. The Matthew Effect
8. I’ll Be Ok
9. Here’s To The Heartache
10. If I Were
11. Friendly Fire
12. Sex & Lies
13. Surface Flames
14. Take A Bullet
15. Jenny
16. God Went North
17. Pyre
Jonny Hawkins - Lead Vocals, Aux Drums
Daniel Oliver - Bass, Backup Vocals
Mark Vollelunga - Guitar, Backup Vocals
Paul OBrien - Drums
Record Label: Eleven Seven Music


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 28 May 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green