Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

32 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Nuclear Terror - Contaminated Salvation

Nuclear Terror
Contaminated Salvation
by Matt Coe at 09 June 2014, 10:35 AM

Greece always had a strong reputation in the Epic/Power Metal fields, but thanks to the success of SUICIDAL ANGELS the number of Thrash acts are increasing exponentially. NUCLEAR TERROR is another four-piece staking their claim in the speed sweepstakes through this 5 track debut EP “Contaminated Salvation”. The band formed in 2009 under a different name, going through the usual struggle of finding the right members who would commit to the ups and downs of the music business. Finally in 2012 the lineup you see today gelled and writing commenced on this product.

Musically I’m pleased that once again a band understands that all instruments need to be heard and felt for the energy to translate through the speakers. The bass punches in the gut on “Flesh Feast” while forming a progressive nuance to counteract the furious six string action on “Terrorzone”. Kostas Korg as a vocalist has a thin, nasally nature to his speedy word spew – very much Dave Mustaine influenced which makes him passable but not outstanding.

I hear a lot of variation in terms of the band’s attack: Kostas Keene and Chris Koutalelis love a lot of twisted chord choices and drop on a dime transitions, something ANNIHILATOR followers love on a track like “Pride Breaker”- but overall their power/thrash style has a lot of that MEGADETH spitfire and ARTILLERY crunch – periods of all out aggression tempered with some gallop and mid-tempo stomp factor parts.

Taking into account the self-financed production aspects that seems to squash a lot of the mid-range in mastering, “Contaminated Salvation” is a decent start for this band. Look forward to seeing where this quartet takes their songwriting in the future- as they aren’t your standard bash ‘em over the head group.

3 Star Rating

1. Dawn of Extinction
2. Nuclear Warfare
3. Flesh Feast
4. Terrorzone
5. Pride Breaker
Kostas Korg – Vocals, Bass
Kostas Keene – Guitars
Chris Koutalelis – Guitars
Vasilis Dimitriou – Drums
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green